Five University Division Employees Receive National Awards

(BLOOMINGTON) – Five IU advisors and administrators will be honored with awards for their academic advising.

NACADA, a global community for academic advising, will present the awards in October at a special ceremony in Louisville.

Winners of the Advising Technology Innovation award from left to right: Sandeep Bedadala, Laura Ivins, Stacey Abshire, Alice Dobie

The award categories and award winners are:

  • Elizabeth Guertin (OVPUE), Outstanding Advising Program Award, Certificate of Merit
  • Alice Dobie (UD), Advising Technology Innovation Award
  • Mary O’Shea (UD), Outstanding Advising Administrator, Certificate of Merit
  • Eric Beckstrom (SIT), Outstanding Advising Award, Primary Role
  • Cynthia Allen (EDUC/UD), Outstanding New Advisor Award, Primary Role

The primary goal of NACADA is to promote quality advising and career development while improving and enhancing the education of all students.