$2.8M in a Federal Grant Awarded to Indiana PSAPs to Enhance their 911 Equipment

(UNDATED) – Twenty-nine PSAPs (Public Safety Answering Points) across Indiana will benefit from a $2.8M Federal Grant to enhance their 911 Equipment.

The purpose of the 911 Grant Program, provided by the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), is to provide Federal funding to support the transition of PSAPs and their interconnecting 911 network and core services, to facilitate migration to a digital, IP-enabled emergency network, and adoption and operation of NG911 services and applications.

The grant is a 60/40 match where the PSAPs will be required to pay 40% of their project cost while the other 60% is covered by the grant funding.

Indiana Treasurer Kelly Mitchell

Treasurer Kelly Mitchell, chair of the Statewide 911 Board, commented, “I am pleased that these counties are able to utilize these grant funds to improve their critical services to Hoosiers. Their work is much appreciated.”

Indiana PSAPs submitted sub-grant applications to the Statewide 911 Board who is administering the funds for the state of Indiana. These applications were reviewed by a committee and then submitted to NHTSA for final approval.

Executive Director Ed Reuter

Executive Director Ed Reuter said, “The 911 Grant Program will aid 1/3 of Indiana counties with the financial cost of upgrading the 911 equipment in their PSAPs. The grant provided the opportunity for many of these counties to purchase the necessary upgrades that they may not otherwise have been able to afford. These upgrades will have a significant impact on 911 services across the state.”

The 29 PSAPs who were approved for funding of 36 different projects include:

  • Bartholomew County 911 Emergency Operations Center
  • Blackford County Sheriff’s Office
  • Boone County Communications Center
  • Brown County Sheriff’s Office
  • Cass County Central Dispatch
  • Daviess County Sheriff Department
  • Dearborn County Communications
  • Decatur County Communications
  • Delaware County Emergency Communications Center
  • Dubois County Communications Center
  • Fayette County Communications
  • Jefferson County 911 Communications
  • Knox County Central Dispatch
  • LaGrange County 911
  • Madison County Central Dispatch
  • Marshall County Sheriff’s Office
  • Montgomery County Central Communications Center
  • Newton County Sheriff’s Dept., 911 Center
  • Owen County Sheriff’s Department 911 Center
  • Pike County 911
  • Pulaski County Sheriff’s Department
  • Randolph County 911 ECC
  • Ripley County 911 Communications
  • Scott County Emergency Communications 911
  • Shelby County Sheriff Department
  • Tipton County Communications
  • Union County 911
  • Wayne County Emergency Communications
  • White County Communications/E911