Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch to Chair Indiana’s 2020 Census Committee

(STATEHOUSE) –Today Governor Eric J. Holcomb announced that Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch would serve as the chair of Indiana’s Census 2020 Complete Count Committee.

Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch

“Indiana’s active participation in Census 2020 is critical for the continued growth and success of our state,” Holcomb said. “With Lt. Gov. Crouch leading the charge, I am confident we will work hard to reach Hoosiers in every corner of the state to encourage their participation.”

“Over the past year, Indiana has worked diligently to prepare for Census 2020.  The State and many communities throughout Indiana have participated in multiple technical programs to ensure the Census Bureau has an accurate address list.  These technical programs include the Local Update of Census Addresses (LUCA) and just recently, the Count Review program.  We have now assembled a statewide coalition of stakeholders, including community organizations, local governments, churches, and other groups,” Lt. Gov. Crouch said. “This month, we will kick off the public-facing campaign and add additional state and community volunteers to our network.”

Indiana’s Census 2020 Complete Count Committee will hold a meeting on Monday, August 19, 2019, at 1 p.m. ET in the Indiana Government Center South Auditorium. The meeting is open to the public. The Census 2020 Complete Count Committee will be staffed by the Indiana Department of Administration. The purpose of the meeting is to continue coordinating the state’s outreach efforts to encourage all Hoosiers to answer the census. Meeting speakers include Marilyn Sanders, regional director of the Chicago Census Bureau office and Carol Rogers, liaison to the Bureau. An accurate census count is vital to obtain federal funding for economic development, public health, education, housing and research, as well as to maintain Indiana’s representation in the U.S. House of Representatives.

For more information, visit, or contact Jill Carnell, Indiana Department of Administration at