Arts Commission Announces Election of Officers

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today the recent election of officers to lead the governing body of the agency.

Allen C. Platt III, Floyds Knobs, Indiana was elected as Chair. Platt serves as General Counsel for Samtec, Inc., a global manufacturer of electronic connectors, with its world headquarters located in New Albany, Indiana. Platt has a long commitment to, and has for many years served as Board President of arts organizations in his community including The Carnegie Center for Arts and History, the Arts Council of Southern Indiana, and the Hayswood Theatre Group. He has been a life-long participant in the arts, including frequently acting in and directing community theatrical productions throughout Southern Indiana. Platt is currently serving his second term with the Commission.

Alberta Barker, Lafayette, was chosen as Vice-Chair. Barker graduated summa cum laude from Indiana Wesleyan University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration. She is also a graduate of the University of Wisconsin ABA National Trust School and Cannon Trust School, earning the designation of Certified Trust and Financial Advisor. Barker is heavily invested in her community through endeavors with the Art Museum of Greater Lafayette, Past President; Art Museum of Greater Lafayette Foundation Board; Lafayette Symphony Orchestra Foundation, Past President; Estate Planning Council, Treasurer; and Ivy Tech Regional Development Committee, Chair. She is currently Vice President and Personal Trust Administrator to 1st Source Bank’s Lafayette Wealth Advisory Services. Barker is currently serving her first term with the Commission.

Anne Penny Valentine, Carmel, will serve as Secretary. Before assuming her current position as Assistant Vice President of Workforce Partnerships with Ivy Tech, Anne Penny Valentine twice served as legislative director for Governor Mitch Daniels, with additional government experience as legislative director for the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles, and Deputy Commissioner for Communications and Government Affairs with the Indiana Department of Workforce Development. Prior to working with state government, Valentine had experience in arts administration serving as Vice President for the Arts Council of Indianapolis; Director of Marketing and Public Relations for Edyvean Repertory Theatre; and Executive Director for Indianapolis Symphonic Choir. Valentine is currently serving her first term with the Commission.

The election of officers for the Commission took place during its June 14, 2019 Quarterly Business Meeting in Indianapolis. Officers are chosen by their fellow commissioners to serve a two-year term of office. They are responsible for implementation of the Commission’s Strategic Plan, overseeing the management of agency policy and procedure, and responsible for hiring the agency’s executive director.

“On behalf of the staff of the Arts Commission, we look forward to working with these incredibly dedicated individuals committed to the advancement of the arts in our state,” said IAC Executive Director Lewis C. Ricci