Higher Education Commission Welcomes Dr. Trent A. Engbers as New Faculty Member

(INDIANAPOLIS) – Dr. Trent A. Engbers is joining the Indiana Commission for Higher Education as the body’s Faculty Commission Member. Engbers is an associate professor of political science and public administration and director of the master of public administration program at the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville.

Dr. Trent Engbers

Gov. Eric Holcomb announced Engbers’ appointment to the 14-member Commission last week, following a recommendation from the Commission’s Faculty Nominating Committee in May. Engbers replaces the outgoing Dr. Kathy Parkison of Indiana University Kokomo, who was appointed in 2017. Faulty Commission Members serve two-year terms with the Commission.

“Indiana has some of the best institutions of higher education in the world, and I am honored to be appointed to help guide these institutions forward,” Engbers said.

A former Peace Corp volunteer, Engbers is an experienced college educator and nonprofit consultant. Previous faculty experience includes the University of Notre Dame Mendoza College of Business and the Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs, among others. He earned degrees from Xavier University, the University of Maryland, University of Missouri and Indiana University. Engbers resides with his family in Evansville.

“Having been raised and raising my children in Indiana, I know how important our colleges and universities are for the state,” he said. “I look forward to providing a faculty perspective to the decisions they face. I am excited to be a part of helping Indiana’s college and university’s build the workforce for tomorrow and confront the problems of today.”

Faculty Commission Members must hold a full-time teaching, research or other position at a public institution of higher education and reside in Indiana. Engbers will serve as a full voting member of the Commission, which meets approximately 20-25 days per year. His term began July 1 and ends on June 30, 2021.