Regional Artists Receive Career Development Grants from Art Commission

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that 56 Hoosier artists throughout the state will receive career development assistance through the agency’s Individual Advancement Program (IAP) grants for Fiscal Year 2020. This includes one artist from Region 10.

Region 10 includes: Davies, Dubois, Gibson, Knox, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Warrick counties.

The Arts Commission this year accepted grant applications in the disciplines of dance, literature, music, theatre, folk arts projects related to those traditional disciplines, and from artists with disabilities through the access category. Artist could also apply through a separate grant category for artists who have been pursuing their arts career for less than five years.

“Artists living and pursuing a career in Indiana are a valuable part of the fabric of their community, and contribute the local and state economy as they purchase supplies or equipment, and pay utilities and taxes,” said Lewis C. Ricci, IAC Executive Director. “These grants help increase the opportunity for artists to successfully advance their careers and continue to live in and contribute to economic success of our state.”

Region 10 grant recipient is:

  • Casey Pycior, Evansville, Vanderburgh County, Literature

As in years past, all Individual Advancement Program artists could request grant support up to $2,000 for career development assistance projects.

A complete listing of FY2020 grant recipients and their project descriptions can be found here.

Earlier this year, volunteer peer panels convened by the IAC reviewed 70 Individual Advancement Program project proposals. The IAP grants, totaling $109,432 were among 431 funding recommendations for artists and community-based cultural program providers approved June 14, 2019 during the Commission’s Quarterly Business Meeting in Indianapolis.

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, every day, for everyone in Indiana.