Tuesday Is Election Day

(BEDFORD) – Tuesday is Election Day for the Republican primary in Lawrence County.

The polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 6 p.m.
According to Lawrence County Clerk Billie Tumey, as of Friday morning, 393 Bedford residents and 53 Mitchell residents have voted early. The Voter Registration Office has received 101 ballots in Bedford and 176 in Mitchell. There are still there 87 Mitchell absentee ballots and 14 Bedford absentee ballots still out. Tumey says residents have until Noon Tuesday to get those back to the Voter Registration Office. By law, those received after the Noon deadline will not be counted.
Registered voters can vote at any voting center:

  • Lawrence County Courthouse
  • Parkview Intermediate library entrance
  • Stalker Elementary School gym
  • Mitchell Community Building
  • Emerson School gym’s Ninth Street entrance in Mitchell

Tumey reminds residents that those voting at local schools on Tuesday that there will be a lot of traffic during the beginning and end of the school day with students arriving and leaving school
The following are the Republican candidates who will appear on the primary ballot:
The City of Bedford

  • Bedford Mayor: Rick Butterfield, Sam Craig, Robert Garrett, Michael Hawkins, Gene McCracken, Sam Shaw.
  • Bedford Clerk-Treasurer: Marsha Pfeiffer.
  • Bedford City Council, District 1: Ryan Griffith, Brian Skillman
  • Bedford City Council, District 2: Larry D. Hardman
  • Bedford City Council, District 3: Brad Bough, Andrea Rope, Howard H. Scott
  • Bedford City Council, District 4: Judy Carlisle
  • Bedford City Council, District 5: Penny May
  • Bedford City Council, at large: (pick two) Dan Bortner, Angel Hawkins, Adele Bowden-Purlee

The City of Mitchell:

  • Mitchell Mayor: John “JD” England, Dan Terrell
  • Mitchell Clerk-Treasurer: Mark Bryant
  • Mitchell City Council, District 1: Michelle Wilfong Smith
  • Mitchell City Council, District 2: Nathan Jenkins
  • Mitchell City Council, District 3: Roger “Brother Moe” Keith, Perry Reynolds
  • Mitchell City Council, District 4: Daniel Talbott
  • Mitchell City Council, at large: William J. Erdle, George James