Bloomington Regional Dispatch Center, Indiana State Police Celebrate Public Safety Telecommunicator Week

(BLOOMINGTON) – On behalf of all Public Safety organizations and First Responders, the Indiana State Police express our combined thanks and appreciation to Governor Holcomb for declaring in Indiana the week of April 14 – 20, 2019 as “Public Safety Telecommunicator Week.”

In 1991 Congress proclaimed the second full week in April to be National Public Safety Telecommunications Week to recognize the importance of those exceptional individuals who coordinate the efforts of police, fire, and EMS workers. Governor Eric J. Holcomb has proclaimed the week of April 14-20, 2019 as Public Safety Telecommunications Week in Indiana. Indiana has recognized this week since 1999.
Telecommunications operators are the unsung heroes of public safety. They operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week. These are the men and women who collect the initial information and pass it along to the first responders in the field. Often they can give immediate lifesaving directions to the caller during medical emergencies or can be the calming voice to reassure the victim of a violent crime that help is on the way.
All Indiana State Police Telecommunications Operators must pass a written test, a typing test, appear before an interview board, and go through a background investigation before being hired. Once employed they must endure several weeks of training and continuous in-service training throughout their careers to maintain certifications on the latest communications technology and procedures.
Telecommunications Operators working from Regional Dispatch Center III at the Bloomington State Police Post, are responsible for dispatching troopers working in 19 counties across central Indiana that include the Bloomington, Jasper and Evansville Posts.
A huge thanks to all the dispatchers and supervisory staff at the Bloomington Regional Dispatch Center for all you do!
Region III Telecommunications Operators;
kathy haley.jpg
Regional Manager – Kathryn Haley
lessa Slover.jpg
Regional Shift Supervisor – Leesa Slover
paula summitt.jpg
Regional Shift Supervisor – Paula Summitt
bryce Viehweg.jpg
Regional Shift Supervisor – Bryce Viehweg
doug brassine.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Paul “Doug” Brassine
scott wilkerson.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Lloyd “Scott” Wilkerson
tonya beck.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Tonya Beck
tracy young.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Tracy Young
hunter sanders.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Hunter Sanders
mitch mckinney.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Mitchell McKinney
taylor howell.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Taylor Howell
tyler wilson.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Tyler Williams
bailey fears.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Bailey Fears
andrew thompson.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Andrew Thompson
shelby brown.jpg
Regional Dispatcher – Shelby Brown