Kinsey Institute Announces Inaugural Alfred C. Kinsey Distinguished Researcher Award

(BLOOMINGTON) – Janet Shibley Hyde has been named the recipient of the inaugural Alfred C. Kinsey Distinguished Researcher Award, which honors renowned scientists and academics who shape the understanding of human sexuality through their research.

Hyde is an Evjue-Bascom Professor, the Helen Thompson Woolley Professor of Psychology and Gender and Women’s Studies, and director of the Center for Research on Gender and Women at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
Dr. William Yarber, Kinsey Institute Senior Scientist and chair of the award committee, explained the selection of Dr. Hyde: “Dr. Hyde’s superb research has made profound contributions to the advancement of our understanding of gender and women’s sexuality. The sex research community is most grateful for her superior research and commitment to advancing sex research and sexual health.”
Hyde will receive the award at the inaugural Alfred C. Kinsey Distinguished Researcher Award Dinner and Lecture on April 8 in Bloomington. The award is made possible through a new endowed fund at the Kinsey Institute.
“I’m delighted that the Kinsey Institute will be honoring noted researcher, Dr. Janet Hyde,” said Rick Van Kooten, Vice Provost for Research at Indiana University, Bloomington. “We’re very grateful to the generous donors who’ve made this award possible, allowing us to highlight the Kinsey Institute’s legacy of innovative sex research, research that has been and will continue to be of vital cultural importance.”