Chris Shaw To Serve As Mitchell School Board President

(MITCHELL) – The Mitchell Community School Board of Trustees Monday night voted to retain Chris Shaw as president.

Patrick Redman will serve as vice president, Crystal Mikels as secretary, Melinda Powell as treasurer and Debbie Arthur as deputy treasurer.
The board appointed Ruthie Layne to serve as extra-curricular treasurer and Dana Grimes as deputy extra-curricular treasurer.
Serving on the insurance committee are Cindy Brooking, Phil Storms, and Superintendent Mike Wilcox.
Wilcox will also serve as the local education officer.
Greg Pittman was retained as the school system’s attorney. He will be paid a $2,000 retainer along with $150 an hour for his services.
Board voted salaries will remain the same for the 2019-2020 school year with a stipend of $2,000 and $90 for each special meeting, $50 for each committee meeting attended. Members will be paid 50 cents a mile as mileage compensation for each meeting.
The School Board Meetings will remain on the second Monday of the month in 2019.
The board also approved the 2019-2020 school calendar. The first day of school for teachers will be August 1, 2019, with the first day for students beginning on August 5, 2019. The last day of school will be May 21, 2020, with graduation on May 24, 2020.