Future IWU Students receive Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship

MARION – The Indiana Commission for Higher Education recently awarded 200 Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarships. Twelve of the recipients will be joining the Indiana Wesleyan University community and pursuing an education degree.

Students were selected through a competitive process and will receive $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for committing to teach in Indiana for at least five years after graduating college. Students needed to have a 3.5 cumulative GPA, graduate in the top 20% of their high school class, or earn a score in the 20th percentile on the ACT or SAT to qualify for the scholarship.

Teacher Education has been at the heart of Indiana Wesleyan University since being founded in 1920. The School of Teacher Education continues to prepare educators and administrators who serve and lead with a dual purpose – to deliver exceptional education while impacting the lives of students, families, and communities across a wide range of educational contexts.

“At Indiana Wesleyan University, our faculty believe deeply that teaching is – and will remain – an admirable career path,” said Dr. Anita Manwell, professor and dean of the School of Teacher Education at IWU. “Knowing these scholars are already committed to teaching in Indiana after graduation sets them up for success before they even begin their studies at IWU. And when you combine the passion of these students with the Christ-centered and rigorous curriculum they’ll be engaging in at IWU, there is no doubt in my mind that they will be prepared to make a significant difference in the lives of others with a degree from the School of Teacher Education. Congratulations to each one of these Next Generation Hoosier Educators!”

Learn more about Indiana Wesleyan’s School of Teacher Education here.

Learn more about the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship here.

Scholarship recipients attending Indiana Wesleyan University:

  • Macie Hirschy – South Adams High School
  • Courtney Thomas – Carroll High School (Fort Wayne)
  • Kayla Branim – Christian Academy of Indiana
  • Makenna Beall – Rochester Community High School
  • Hayden Rowley – Mississinewa High School
  • Lauren Myers – New Palestine High School
  • Sophia Notter – Covenant Christian High School (Indianapolis)
  • Abby Buskirk – Shenandoah High School
  • Brooklynn Olinger – Lakeland Jr/Sr High School
  • Katelyn Ousley – Maconaquah High School
  • Matthew Lacy – Parke Heritage High School  
  • Braxton Bales – Winchester Community High School