Kane Schmeichel is the first-round champion of the 48th WBIW Annual Lawrence County Spelling Bee

BEDFORD – The 48th WBIW Annual Lawrence County Spelling Bee first-round champion is Kane Schmeichel, a 4th grader at Dollens Elementary.

Kane Schmeichel a 4th Grader at Dollens with his father Richard Schmeichel 

Schmeichel will now move on to the championship round on Wednesday at Bedford Middle School Schafer Auditorium.

Kane earned the Champion title in just 3 rounds after spelling urgently correctly.

First Runner Up was Rowan Miller a fifth-grader at St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School. He secured that spot by spelling severe, after Carter Hill, of Burris Elementary misspelled bureau.

Front Row: First runner up Rowan Miller, Champion Kane Schmeichel, 3rd Place Finisher Carter Hill. Back row Janika Cochrane, representing Lincoln Elementary, Carson Lyons representing LCIS, and Devyn Richardson a homeschooler.

Emma Landstrom Miss Bedford Teen presented the trophies and participation certificates to the students.  She will be competing in the Miss Teen USA pageant in April. 

Champion Kane Schmeichel and Emma Landstrom Miss Bedford Teen

The Spelling Bee is free to attend and open to the public. Doors open for spectators each day at 4:15 p.m. or you catch the spelling bee live on both days via Facebook live. WBIW has also made the bee available to those that are not able to catch the event at 4 p.m. You can listen to the spelling be on WBIW 1340 am or stream it on wbiw.com at 6:30 p.m. today.

The champion speller will be awarded a $100 cash prize provided by Bedford Federal Savings Bank, a pizza party for their homeroom class provided by Papa Johns Pizza, a t-shirt, and a trophy.

All participants receive a 1340 AM WBIW Spelling Bee t-shirt and a participant certificate.

WBIW’s Marketing Manager Sarah Turpen will moderate this year’s bee. Judges will be President Holly Davis and Director of Sales Brandi Weyer.

Kane Schmeichel now competes against those representing grades 6-8 listed below.

The top speller at Bedford Middle School is Gibson “Gibby” Evans, grade 8.

Gibson “Gibby” Evans

Representing Oolitic Middle School is 7th grader Kaegan Hanners

Kaegan Hanners

Representing Needmore Elementary School is Ethan Fulford, grade 6.

Ethan Fulford

Gavin Adams, grade 6, will represent Mitchell Junior High School.

Gavin Adams

Representing St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School is 7th grader Noah Childers.

Noah Childers

Maya Scherschel a 6th grader is the Shawswick Middle School champion.

Maya Scherschel

Gavyn Lemons, an 8th grader will represent LCIS.

Gavyn Lemons

 Paige Voigtschild, a 7th grader is the homeschool champion.

 Paige Voigtschild

Representing Parkview Intermediate is Brett Elpers a 6th grader.

Brett Elpers

6th grader Chloe Collins will represent Lincoln (photo unavailable).