BNL’s Brock, Perry, Lewis named First Team All-HHC

BNL senior linebacker Ryan Perry led the Stars in tackles in 2021.

By Justin Sokeland

BEDFORD – Bedford North Lawrence’s Jesse Brock, Ryan Perry and Brye Lewis were named to the All-Hoosier Hills Conference First Team by the league coaches.

Brock, a senior defensive back, ranked 22nd in the state with 5 interceptions, and he added 62 tackles. Perry, a senior linebacker, paced the BNL defense in tackles with 103 (including 14 for loss) and added two sacks. Lewis, a senior linebacker, had 46 tackles and two interceptions.

BNL’s Dylan Nikirk (wide receiver) and Nic Mansker (lineman) were selected as Honorable Mention.

New Albany, which won the Class 5A regional title, won the league championship.

BNL’s Brye Lewis was named First Team as a linebacker.

All-HHC Football

First Team

New Albany – Derell Simmons, Kyondre Winford, Myles Johnson, Elijah Jennings, Jay’Raylyn Johnson, Dejon Winburn, Sebastian Landon

Columbus East – Josh Luedeke (OL), Ashton Hartwell (OL), Tryce Villarreal (RB), Chase Harrison (LB), Jamall Starks (DL)

Floyd Central – Brandon Fessel (OL), Garron Jenkins (LB), Nate Ripley (DL), Eli Branham (WR)

BNL – Jesse Brock (S), Ryan Perry (LB), Brye Lewis (LB)

Seymour – Jaylan Johnson (WR), Bret Perry (QB), Cameron Klakamp (DE)

Jeffersonville – Zion Mansfield (RB), Davarhy Julian (WR)

Jennings County – Peyton Hayden (QB), Cole Marksberry (DB)

Honorable Mention

New Albany – Kaden Watson, Blake Osborne, Darius Hickenbottom; Columbus East – Jaden Durnil, Caaden Gault, Devon Tekulve; Floyd Central. – Max Grangier, Jack Rushing, Gavin Harvey; BNL – Dylan Nikirk, Nic Mansker; Seymour – Cory Robinson; Jeffersonville – Leland Ponca, Colin Corbin; Jennings County – Zach Reason

BNL’s Jesse Brock ranked among the state leaders with 5 interceptions.