Purdue’s annual rite of spring: Happy grads cross Elliott stage during spring ceremonies

WEST LAFAYETTE — The small steps they’ve taken over the past few years culminated for many Purdue University students beginning Friday, May 13, and continuing through the weekend. They graduated into the next phases of their lives.

A graduate gets a celebratory hug following commencement ceremonies on Friday, May 13. (Purdue University photo/Rebecca McElhoe)

By Monday morning, there will have been seven commencement ceremonies, each in the Elliott Hall of Music, on campus.

Eligible to participate in the ceremonies were 8,131 students, which included 6,257 undergraduates, 1,180 master’s, 454 Doctor of Philosophy, and 240 professional program candidates.

Purdue President Mitch Daniels keynoted Friday ceremonies and was set to during the Saturday and Sunday ceremonies.

Graduate celebrating with Family following commencement on Friday, May 13th (Purdue University photo/Rebecca McElhoe)

Dr. Deborah W. Knapp, Distinguished Professor in Comparative Oncology and director of Purdue’s Comparative Oncology Program in the College of Veterinary Medicine, will be the guest speaker for the Monday morning Graduate School ceremony. She is nationally and internationally recognized for her work in bladder cancer and comparative oncology.

Three individuals were set to receive honorary doctorates during commencement. Edmund O. Schweitzer III and Jill Hruby receive honorary Doctor of Engineering degrees from the College of Engineering. John Krenicki Jr. receives an honorary Doctor of Management from the School of Management.

Graduating student responders during the ceremonies are Grace Hasler of Columbus, Indiana, from the College of Agriculture; Jace Newell of Maple Grove, Minnesota, from the College of Engineering and the John Martinson Honors College; Tom Appenzeller of West Lafayette, Indiana, from the College of Science; Jack Horoho of Warsaw, Indiana, from the School of Management; Parikshit Pawar of Austin, Texas, from the College of Health and Human Sciences; and Jaqueline Krutsch of Evanston, Illinois, from the College of Education.

All ceremonies were set for livestream.