Orleans Town Council met for an annual reorganizational meeting

ORLEANS – The Orleans Town Council met for its annual reorganizational meeting last week at Town Hall

Duke Energy Outdoor Lighting Program Representative Steve Lee presented information on two energy savings programs available to municipalities regarding street lights.  One program being considered by town officials is a rebate-type initiative to upgrade and change the old street lights to all LED lighting.  The town currently pays a monthly bill of slightly more than $2,000 for the 212 street lights.  Lee noted that the old-style Cobra-type lights were fast approaching their end-of-life cycle and becoming more difficult to find replacement parts.   The council agreed to review both proposals and look further into the town’s street lighting.

Ron Henderson discussed with council members possible leasing and/or purchasing options concerning an empty lot he owns downtown on the east side of the square.

The council voted to keep the council meeting dates and times the same for 2022. A general work/study session is held on the first Wednesday of each month at 9 a.m.  The regular town council meeting will remain on the third Thursday of each month at 6 p.m.

In other business, the council approved the town’s holiday schedule for the coming year with no changes from last year.  

All current town department heads were retained for 2022 in their current capacity.  

A contract for legal services was approved for John-Paul Isom to continue to serve as the town’s attorney.

The council made a number of appointments for the coming year. 

  • Randy Clark will serve as the town’s representative on the Indiana 15 Regional Planning Commission.
  • Wendy Sprigler was reappointed to the Orange County Convention & Visitors Bureau Board. 
  • John Noblitt will continue to serve on the Orange County Solid Waste Board as will Clark as the town’s representative on the Orange County Economic Development Partnership (OCEDP).
  • Clark will continue to serve on the Orleans Redevelopment Commission.
  • Kyle Bostic was appointed to the Orleans Board of Zoning Appeals
  • Lew Tetrick will serve on the Orleans Cemetery Board
  • Jim Shelby witll serve on the Orleans Airport Board of Commissioners
  • John Noblitt will serve as the 2022 Council President.  

Council members also reviewed and approved a COVID Disability Policy going forward for all town employees.

Councilman Clark was given the green light to pursue a wellness-type grant for the town.