17 State Parks Scheduled For Deer Management Hunts

(UNDATED) – Select Indiana state parks will close for four days in the coming weeks to allow for controlled deer management including Brown County, McCormick’s Creek and Spring Mill State Parks.

The dates for the temporary closings are Nov. 16-17, and Nov. 30-Dec. 1. 

The hunts are to help manage the impact from deer browsing. For this
management hunt to be effective, hunters are asked to harvest any deer that presents a safe and ethical shot (within established bag limits), especially those that are antlerless.

These deer do not count against your regular state deer hunting license or bag limit.

The number of hunters allowed at each park is strategically calculated.

The parks will be closed to the general public starting from 8 p.m. EST (7 p.m., CST) on the Sunday, November 15th before the first hunt period through 8 a.m. EST (7 a.m. CST) on Wednesday, November 18th and 8 p.m. on Sunday, November 29th before the second hunt period through 8 a.m. EST (7 a.m. CST) Wednesday, December 2nd following the second hunt period.

All hunters will need a photo id to enter and exit the properties.

Hunting hours are ½ hour before sunrise until 4:00 p.m. EST (3:00p.m. CST) on the days of the hunt. Hunters can enter the field no earlier than 5:00 a.m. You must be done hunting by 4:00 p.m. When you are done hunting, hunters need to check out at the entrance of the parks.

The properties are:

  • Brown County
  • Chain O’Lakes
  • Charlestown
  • Fort Harrison
  • Harmonie
  • Lincoln
  • McCormick’s Creek
  • Ouabache
  • Pokagon
  • Potato Creek
  • Prophetstown
  • Shades
  • Spring Mill
  • Trine State Recreation Area,
  • Turkey Run
  • Versailles
  • Whitewater Memorial
Print Friendly, PDF & Email