Monroe County elected officials will take the oath of office on Sunday, Jan. 1

BLOOMINGTON – In a bi-partisan start to a new year, the Monroe County Democratic Party and Monroe County Republican Party will jointly host the 2023 Swearing-In Ceremony for newly elected officials at Noon on Sunday, January 1, 2023, in the Nat U. Hill Room of the Monroe County Courthouse.

MCDP Chair David G. Henry and MCRP Chairwoman Taylor Bryant will give brief remarks before officials take their oaths in the historic chambers of the Courthouse.

Approximately 20 officials, including newly elected Sheriff Ruben Marte, Judge Emily Salzmann, Recorder Amy Swain, County Councilors Jennifer Crossley, Kate Wiltz, and Peter Iversen, Commissioner Lee Jones, and township board members and MCCSC School Board members will take their oaths among friends and family. Other officials have opted to conduct swearings in during their regular board meetings throughout the month.

Officials have 30 days to provide their oaths and paperwork to the Monroe County Clerk after assuming office.

David G. Henry

“We start a new year with a new term for our community with bi-partisan goodwill,” said David G. Henry, MCDP Chair. “Our community has given their consent to these new and returning officials, from opposing parties and viewpoints, but with the goal of working toward consensus for better schools and townships, and a better Monroe County. I am thrilled to fill a modest role in kicking off this new term on New Year’s Day with so many talented and selfless public servants for the greater good of our whole community.”