The complete list of those running in Lawrence County school board races

BEDFORD – Noon today was the deadline to file to run for the Lawrence County School Board races.

Positions available for each school corporation include:

  • North Lawrence Community School Board: Districts 1, 2, 3, 5
  • Mitchell Community School Board: District 2

Twelve people have filed for the North Lawrence Community School Board of Trustees.

North Lawrence Community School District 1 Seat

  • Incumbent Kirsten Collier
  • Jason Johnson
  • Craig Godsey

North Lawrence Community School District 2 Seat

  • Adam Parsley
  • Michael Patton

North Lawrence Community School District 3 Seat

  • Robert Payne
  • Tony “Rock” Fleetwood
  • Scott King
  • Tye M Hooten
  • Autumn Ray

North Lawrence Community School District 5 Seat

  • Incumbent Kamal Girgis
  • Barbara Miller 

Five people have filed for the two open seats in District 2 for Mitchell Community School Board of Trustees

Mitchell Community School Board: District 2

  • Incumbent Chris Shaw
  • Krystal Shetler
  • Christopher Bowles
  • Incumbent Cynthia Brooking 
  • Adrienne Lipp

The following School Board Trustee positions are open for the 2022 General Election on November 8, 2022:

  • District 1 – Includes Precincts of Indian Creek North, Indiana Creek South & Spice Valley North. Currently held by Kirsten Collier
  • District 2-Includes Precincts of Marshall 1, 2, 3, and Pleasant Run. Currently held by Trent Todd
  • District 3-Includes Precincts of Guthrie, Shawswick 14A, 14B, 15A & 15B. Currently held by Bryce Bennett
  • District 5-Includes Precincts of Shawswick 12, 13 and the west side of Hwy 37 in Shawswick 7A, 7B, 10, 16. Currently held by Dr. Kamal Girgis
  • Mitchell Community Schools – 2 positions, for District 2 Includes Precincts of Marion 1, 2, 3, 4, 5A, 5B, 5C & 6. Currently held by Cristopher Shaw and Cindy Fleener Brooking.

School board races are non-partisan seats, and each board member serves four-year terms. For candidates to be nominated for each of the school board races, they are required to file a petition with the county clerk’s office, which must include the signatures of 10 registered voters in the district they reside in and are running for.