Indiana Life Sciences Manufacturing 2022 Summit

INDIANA – The Purdue Advanced Manufacturing of Pharmaceuticals Alliance announces the Indiana Life Sciences Manufacturing 2022 Summit in collaboration with Indiana Biosciences Research Institute, hybrid and in-person at 16TECH Innovation District, at 1220 Waterway Blvd Indianapolis, IN 46202.

The inaugural Indiana Life Sciences Manufacturing Summit will convene industry, academia, state and local governments, and other relevant organizations to promote life sciences manufacturing, research, education, and business development throughout Indiana. We’ll discuss trends, challenges, and opportunities, how to forge global solutions with regional resources, and what workforce development is needed to keep up with onshoring and emerging technologies. Special attention will be given to the innovation ecosystem, as a critical part of a strong network of stakeholders interested in a long-term strategy to increase Indiana life-sciences competitiveness.



10:00 – Opening remarks, Dr. Mung Chiang, Executive Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering at Purdue University

10:30 – John Chiminski, CEO, Catalent
Keynote Speaker

John Chiminski

11:15 – Panel 1, Challenges and Opportunities in Life Sciences Manufacturing in Indiana

Moderated by Srinu Sonti, Principal, Lewis-Burke Associates LLC

  • Scott Fadness, Mayor, City of Fishers, IN
  • Dr. William Heath, Senior Vice President, Medicines Innovation Hub, Eli Lilly and Company
  • Dr. Jeffrey Zaleski, Vice Provost for Research, Indiana University Bloomington

12:00 – Lunch and Exhibit Presentations

1:00 – Panel 2, Life Sciences Manufacturing Workforce Development

Moderated by Dr. Alina Alexeenko, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Engineering, Purdue University

  • Stephanie Bothun, Vice President and Co-founder Ascend Indiana
  • Grant BrockVice President, Operations, Lannett Company, Inc.
  • Dr. Sue Ellspermann, President, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
  • Dr. Lucas Huntimer, Senior Advisor – External Innovation, Elanco

2:00 – Panel 3, Life Sciences Manufacturing Innovation Ecosystem in Indiana

Moderated by Brian Stemme, Senior Vice President – External Engagement and Board Representative, BioCrossroads

  • Dr. Beth Lorsbach, Small Molecule Discovery and Development Leader, Corteva Agriscience
  • Dr. Theresa Mayer, Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships, Purdue University
  • Dr. Alan Palkowitz, President and CEO, Indiana Biosciences Research Institute 
  • Dr. Joseph Trebley, Co-founder and CEO, Scioto Biosciences and Monon Bioventures

2:45 – Closing Remarks

Organizing Committee

Dr. Alina Alexeenko, Prof. of Aeronautics & Astronautics and Prof. of Chemical Engineering; Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, College of Engineering; Co-Director, Advanced Lyophilization Technology Hub – LyoHUB, Purdue University

Cristina Farmus, Chief of Staff to the Executive Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, Purdue University

Dr. Eric Munson, Dane O. Kildsig Chair and Head, Department of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy, Purdue University

Dr. Garth Simpson, Professor, Analytical and Physical Chemistry; Associate Dean for Research and Partnerships, College of Science, Purdue University

Dr. Thomas Verhoeven, President’s Fellow, Pharmaceutical Development & Partnerships, Purdue University

Questions? Contact Cristina Farmus,, 765-430-6067