Lawrence County Council approves list of requests, transfers, and appointments for 2022

LAWRENCE COUNTY – During the Tuesday Lawrence County Council meeting, the council approved new appointments to serve Lawrence County and approved multiple requests and transfers.

Lawrence County Recorder Myron Rainey requested approval of a $324,165.95 contract with U.S. Imaging to start the first phase of digitalizing records for the county. The project will use fees collected by the Recorders office which currently has nearly $450,000.

Frazier, Rainey vying for county seat
Myron Rainey

Rainey will also seek ARP funds to help with the digital processing of other records. Lawrence County will receive $ 8.8 Million in ARP funding, though it has not been determined as to how these funds will be dispersed as of yet. Baker Tilley Financial Advisors have been hired to help direct the ARP funds.

Also during the meeting, David Holmes requests for 2022 salaries, transfers, and additional funds for projects were all approved by the council.

Included with these approvals is $15,000 for the Bridge 172 project on Cement Plant Road, which won’t officially begin until 2026. A transfer of $1.5 Million from Motor Vehicle Highway was also approved.

David Holmes

The 2022 Salary ordinance was also amended following the increase in pay for the Lawrence County Health Nurse. This was approved by members of the council unanimously.

Lawrence County Prosecutor Samuel Arp II requested an additional $8,385 which was omitted from the 2021 budget process.

Lawrence County Appointments for 2022 include:

  • Marla Jones to the Alcoholic Beverage Commission
  • Scott Smith to the 4-H Fair Board
  • The Salary Committee will include Scott Smith, Jeff Lytton, and Janie Craig Chenault
  • The Abatement & Economic Development will include Scott Smith, Janie Craig Chenault, Jeff Lytton
  • Julie Hewetson to the Southern Indiana Development Commission
  • Julie Chase to Purdue Extension
  • Bedford Public Library will have Janie Craig Chenault
  • Scott Smith will help with Courthouse Security
  • The Justice Reinvestment Advisory Council will also include Scott Smith
  • Kaydy Fultz to the Mitchell Public Library
  • The Redevelopment Commission will retain Scott Smith and Jeff Quyle

Department Liaisons:

  • Michael Wright – Superior Court I, Highway, and Emergency Management
  • Julie Hewetson – Auditor, Prosecutor, Probation, and Community Corrections
  • Jeff Lytton – Treasurer, Superior Court II, and Aviation
  • Julie Chase – Health Department, Extension, and Recorder
  • Janie Craig Chenault – Surveyor, Clerk, Assessor, Commissioners, as well as the Lawrence County Economic Growth Council
  • Scott Smith – Sheriff, Jail, Solid Waste, and Courthouse Security
  • Rick Butterfield – Public Defender, Substance Abuse, and Circuit Court

The next Council meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 22nd.