Five more Republican candidates file for office

BEDFORD – Five more Republican candidates entered their names to the primary election ballots Friday. No Democrats have filed.

Here is a listing of candidates:

County Council Race

  • Jeff Lytton, Republican – Lawrence County Council District 4
  • Justin Grant, Republican – Lawrence County Council District 4
  • Janie Craig Chenault, Republican – Lawrence County Council District 3
  • Phillip Inman, Republican – Lawrence County Council District 2
  • Ryan Turner, Republican – Lawrence County Council District 1
  • Bill Spreen, Republican – Lawrence County Council District 1

County Commissioner Race

  • Scott Smith, Republican – Lawrence County Commissioner District 1
  • Rodney G. Fish, Republican – Lawrence County Commissioner District 1

County Assessor Race

  • April Stapp Collins, Republican – Lawrence County Assessor

Sheriff Race

  • Gregory D. Taylor, Republican- Lawrence County Sheriff
  • Greg Day, Republican – Lawrence County Sheriff

State Convention Delegates Race

  • Chase Cummings, Republican – State Convention Delegate
  • Brad Bough, Republican – State Convention Delegate
  • Rick Butterfield, Republican – State Convention Delegate
  • Brian Skillman, Republican – State Convention Delegate

Township Trustee Race

  • Tony R. Barrett, Republican – Marshall Township Trustee
  • Regina C. Sullivan, Republican – Marion Township Trustee
  • Michele Porter, Republican – Bono Township Trustee
  • Amy Voorhies, Republican – Perry Township Trustee
  • Michael Nicholson, Republican – Pleasant Run Township Trustee
  • Millard Jones, Republican – Shawswict Township Trustee

Township Board Race

  • Bob Phillips, Republican – Perry Township Board
  • Andrew Rusch, Republican – Shawswick Township Board
Statewide election dates

May 3, 2022: Primary
November 8, 2022: General election

How do primaries work in Indiana?

A primary election is an election in which registered voters select a candidate that they believe should be a political party’s candidate for elected office to run in the general election. They are also used to choose convention delegates and party leaders. Primaries are state-level and local-level elections that take place prior to a general election. Indiana utilizes an open primary system.

Voters are not required to register with a party, but state statutes stipulate that citizens vote in the primary of the party they have voted for most often in the past. According to FairVote, however, “there is really no way to enforce this,” and primaries are effectively open.

How do I register to vote?

To register to vote in Indiana, an individual must be a U.S. citizen who has resided in the precinct in which the individual will be voting for at least 30 days preceding the next election. The individual must be at least 18 years old by the time of the next general or municipal election. Proof of residence is required to register.[ Registration can be completed online, by mail, or in person.[ The deadline to register to vote is 29 days before the next election.

Prospective voters can register in person at the following locations:

  • A Bureau of Motor Vehicles (“BMV”) license branch while applying for or renewing a driver’s license, permit, or identification card
  • A public assistance office while applying for services
  • Certain agencies serving persons with disabilities while applying for assistance
  • Armed forces recruitment agencies
  • County voter registration offices and the Indiana Election Division
  • Unemployment compensation offices while applying for services