Two arrested after vehicle pursuit spanned three counties

SEYMOUR – On Monday afternoon, two Freetown residents were arrested on numerous charges following a vehicle pursuit that spanned three counties.

The incident began at approximately 3:00 p.m. when Indiana State Trooper Randel Miller attempted to conduct a traffic stop on a white Nissan passenger car on I-65 Northbound near the 53-mile marker near Seymour in Jackson County. 

Otha Bryant

The vehicle was being driven by 38-year-old Otha T. Bryant, of Freetown. Bryant refused to stop and fled from the trooper at a high rate of speed.

The vehicle exited I-65 at the 55-mile marker onto State Road 11 traveling north. The vehicle traveled northbound into Bartholomew County before eventually traveling east, crossing US 31, and entering Jennings County.  The vehicle traveled numerous county roads in the area, crossing US 31 two additional times. 

During the pursuit, multiple troopers from the Indiana State Police-Versailles Post, as well as officers from other area police departments assisted. 

Rachel Fagan

The vehicle eventually became disabled and came to a stop on County Road 1000 West in northwest Jennings County.  Bryant and a female passenger, 28-year-old Rachel V. Fagan, of Freetown, were taken into custody without further incident.

During a search of the vehicle, troopers located methamphetamine.  Bryant was arrested on charges of resisting law enforcement in a vehicle, possession of meth, criminal recklessness with a vehicle, reckless driving, and driving while his driver’s license was suspended.  Fagan faces charges of resisting law enforcement in a vehicle, and possession of meth.

Bryant was also wanted on numerous warrants out of Jackson County.  Fagan was additionally wanted on a warrant out of Washington County.

Both Bryant and Fagan were transported to the Jackson County Jail where they were incarcerated pending their initial appearances in court.

The Indiana State Police was assisted by the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Department, Jackson County Sheriff’s Department, and Jennings County Sheriff’s Department.