Historical Bureau dedicates markers

INDIANA – Recently, the Indiana Historical Bureau – a division of the Indiana State Library – dedicated three new historical markers. 

On Saturday, Nov. 13, in Charlestown, a marker highlighting Mary Garrett Hay, a women’s suffrage advocate was dedicated.

On Sunday, Nov. 14, in Georgetown, a marker dedicated to Sherman Minton, a civil rights activist and judge was unveiled.

On Monday, Nov. 15, at the Indiana State House, a marker featuring Harriette Bailey Conn, a trailblazing African American lawyer, was dedicated. 

Visit the Indiana Historical Bureau website to learn more about the Historical Markers Program.