John Jones Auto Group team wins 2021 Sheriff’s Shotgun Shoot for Firearms Safety, First Lady Holcomb wins top female shooter, Grant County takes all student trophies

VELPEN – John Jones Auto Group’s team took top honors at this year’s 4th Annual Sheriffs’ Shotgun Shoot for Firearms Safety with a combined score of 494 of a possible 600 points for sporting clay targets.

John Jones

John Jones Auto Group dealerships are located in Corydon, Greenville, Salem, Scottsburg. John Jones recently joined the ISYR board of directors as the first civilian, business member for the statewide not-for-profit academy being developed and operated for future law enforcement officers, at-risk kids, young witnesses, and victims of crime. Sheriff John Boyd also serves on the board of the Youth Ranch, which he helped found.

Sheriff John Boyd

First runner-up went to the La Porte County Sheriff’s Office who followed closely by a six-person team score of 458. 

First Lady Janet Holcomb

ISYR’s top female shooter was Indiana First Lady Janet Holcomb with a score of 59 of 100 possible targets.

Top male shooter was Dave Gardner of the Monroe County Sheriff’s Office team with a score of 95.

Student category trophies all went to the Madison-Grant High School team comprised of Caleb Ewer, Jason Ewer, William Ewer, and Shylo Nickerson. Grant County Sheriff Reggie Nevels, an ISYR founder, board member, and longtime secretary sponsored the students.

Proceeds from the event will go toward age-appropriate firearms safety material for students, parents, and grandparents who visit ISYR’s 62-acre training retreat near Brazil, Ind. For more information about ISYR, to donate or volunteer, write to ISYR, 5325 N. State Road 59, Brazil, IN 47834