65 police officers recognized as Traffic Safety All-Stars

INDIANA — Governor Eric Holcomb and Indiana Criminal Justice Institute Executive Director Devon McDonald presented 65 Indiana police officers with the Traffic Safety All-Star Award for working to save lives and put a stop to impaired driving. To qualify, the officer must have made at least 20 OWI arrests and participated in one of the state’s targeted enforcement campaigns during the previous year.

Governor Eric Holcomb

“I couldn’t be more grateful for the work these officers are doing to keep our roads and communities safe,” Gov. Holcomb said. “They’ve demonstrated their commitment day-in and day-out to curb impaired driving, and people are alive today because of their efforts. I want to congratulate these officers on their well-deserved, hard-earned achievement.”

In addition to the 65 officers, three individuals received the Leadership Award for aiding in the fight against impaired driving: Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department Officer Tim Abrams, Madison County Deputy Prosecutor Pete Beyel, and Speedway Police Department Sergeant Mark Morgan, who recently passed away due to cancer.

In total, the officers recognized made 3,163 OWI arrests across Indiana in 2020.

The recipients were nominated by their departments as some of the top officers for OWI enforcement. In addition to their normal patrols, they often worked overtime picking up extra shifts during state and national enforcement periods – one of which is kicking off today: the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over mobilization.

Now until Labor Day, more than 200 police agencies throughout the state will be increasing patrols and cracking down on drunk driving, which claims the lives of more than 10,000 people every year in the U.S. That’s approximately one person every 52 minutes or 28 per day, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

In Indiana, drunk driving has been on the rise. Of the 898 traffic fatalities that occurred last year in the state, 151, or 17 percent, were alcohol-related. That’s up from 130 in 2019. During Labor Day weekend alone, there were 12 fatal collisions with one involving a driver over the legal limit.

Indiana Criminal Justice Institute Executive Director Devon McDonald

“Impaired driving continues to take a terrible toll on our state and nation,” McDonald said. “While these overtime patrols are effective and will undoubtedly save lives, we can’t enforce our way out of this issue. It’s up to everyone to drive sober and make smart choices behind the wheel.”

In Indiana, it is illegal to drive with a BAC of .08 or higher. In addition, drivers under 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher are subject to fines and a license suspension for up to one year. Consequences of impaired driving can include thousands of dollars in legal fees, increased insurance rates, loss of license, a criminal record, and possible jail time.

To avoid those, plan a safe and sober ride home before going out. Even if only one drink is consumed, designate a sober driver or plan to use a rideshare service, public transportation, or taxi. Motorists that encounter a drunk driver on the road are encouraged to call 911.

The following list includes the 2021 Traffic Safety All-Star award recipients, who were recognized during a ceremony at Victory Field in Indianapolis.

CountyOfficerAgencyDUI ArrestsJPG
BartholomewGrant CarlsonBartholomew County Sheriff’s Office26 
CassJacqueline BeeboutCass County Sheriff’s Office21 
ClarkDerek WhitmerClark County Sheriff’s Department22 
ClarkBradley JonesClark County Sheriff’s Department24 
ClarkJustin MearsIndiana State Police (Sellersburg District)110 
DearbornAustin BoggsGreendale Police Department44 
DecaturBrandon MeyerGreensburg Police Department52 
DelawareKristopher DuncanMuncie Police Department22 
DelawareKyle TempleMuncie Police Department27 
ElkhartJamie SterlingElkhart County Sheriff’s Office27 
ElkhartJames Bradberry Jr.Elkhart County Sheriff’s Office33 
ElkhartAustin EverageGoshen Police Department27 
GibsonUriah SmithGibson County Sheriff’s Office24 
GrantJosh TreonGrant County Sheriff’s Department21 
HancockRichard VanosdolHancock County Sheriff’s Department20 
HancockShawn BradyNew Palenstine Police Department27 
HendricksNick PuglieseBrownsburg Police Department20 
HendricksAnthony SouthernDanville Police Department25 
HendricksTravis WilsonDanville Police Department50 
HendricksTony GoodpasterHendricks County Sheriff’s Department25 
HendricksJacob HaynHendricks County Sheriff’s Department28 
HendricksTravis KahlHendricks County Sheriff’s Department30 
HendricksMichael TaylorPlainfield Police Department25 
HenryJames E. NicholsonNew Castle Police Department26 
HuntingtonCody JonesHuntington County Sheriff’s Department20 
JohnsonRobert CrockerEdinburgh Police Department32 
JohnsonDillon DallasJohnson County Sheriff’s Office28 
LakeAaron CrawfordLowell Police Department74 
LakeIsrael RosilloIndiana State Police (Lowell District)95 
LakeDennis GriffinIndiana State Police (Lowell District)96 
LaPorteAustin WellsLaPorte County Sheriff’s Department24 
LaPorteDaniel RevoirMichigan City Police Department34 
MadisonTyler IrwinElwood Police Department25 
MarionErica EderIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department21 
MarionWilliam MillerIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department21 
MarionRandall BurnsIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department24 
MarionKenneth OwenIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department27 
MarionJustin BakerIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department29 
MarionAbdessamed BoudaiaIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department30 
MarionJohn KeoughIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department30 
MarionClayton PortellIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department30 
MarionHenry TurnerIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department30 
MarionRyan BowersoxIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department34 
MarionJerry LearyIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department39 
MarionJalen Christian-MossIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department41 
MarionDonald WeilhamerIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department42 
MarionMichael DeHartIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department44 
MarionMark McCardiaIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department51 
MarionZachary FosterIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department66 
MarionAlbert TeatersIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department68 
MarionDuran BrownIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department89 
MarionAdam JonesIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department95 
MarionJaime ThornIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department125 
MarionCraig WildauerIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department167 
MarionCurtis JohnsonIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department313 
MarionKarl BrownSpeedway Police Department67 
MarshallJerrid ArnoldPlymouth City Police Department28 
MarshallMick DockeryIndiana State Police (Bremen District)154 
MarshallBenjamin BeersIndiana State Police (Bremen District)103 
MonroeLeland HutchensMonroe County Sheriff’s Department64 
NobleCarey ConeyNoble County Sheriff’s Department26 
PorterAustin A. HaynesBurns Harbor Police Department22 
VermillionBrandon MahadyCity of Clinton Police Department29 
VigoAndrew ThomasVigo County Sheriff’s Department24 
WayneJulia RidgewayRichmond City Police Department46