Grants will preserve local history across the state

INDIANA – The Department of Natural Resources helps strengthen Indiana’s historical and cultural heritage through annual federal matching grants it awards to communities and not-for-profit groups to assist local preservation projects.

This year, the Division of Historic Preservation & Archaeology has awarded 14 federal Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) grants totaling more than $600,000 for projects in Indiana communities (see list below). In most cases, these grants require a dollar-for-dollar match of local or private funds, for a total projected investment of $1 million.

Funding comes from the National Park Service, a unit of the U.S. Department of the Interior, which distributes federal funds to the states through its HPF program. Since 2000, the state has awarded $11 million to assist more than 500 important heritage preservation projects across Indiana. When combined with local matching funds, this represents an investment of more than $23 million into the preservation of Indiana’s heritage.

Applications for the next round of HPF funding for 2022-2023 are available on the DNR-DHPA webpage: The deadline for proposals is Oct. 8, 2021.

Bloomington: The Monroe County Commissioners will receive $60,000 to rehabilitate the Alexander Memorial statue on the grounds of the county courthouse.

Indianapolis: The Athenaeum Foundation will receive a $50,000 grant for masonry rehabilitation of the building’s primary facade. This is the second phase of the project; the Foundation received funding in 2018 that repointed the brick and cleaned the limestone on the western half of the elevation.

Indianapolis: The Benjamin Harrison home will receive a $50,000 grant for window and masonry rehabilitation on the former president’s home.

Indianapolis: The Schnull-Rauch House will receive a $17,037 grant for the rehabilitation of windows on the 1904 mansion. The house is currently owned by The Children’s Museum and used as a venue for special events.

Jay County: Ball State University will receive $49,845 to conduct archaeological surveys at Loblolly Nature.

Kokomo: The Howard County Historical Society will receive a $50,000 grant to rehabilitate the original porte cochere attached to the Seiberling Mansion.

Lafayette: The St. James Lutheran Church and School will receive $30,000 to rehabilitate the exterior of the School building.

Madison: The City of Madison will receive a $27,793 matching grant to update and revise the design guidelines for the Madison Historic District, which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and designated as a National Historic Landmark. 

New Albany: The Arts Alliance of Southern Indiana will receive $60,000 for window rehabilitation on the Crawford-Day-Moosmiller House.

New Harmony: The Working Men’s Institute will receive a $50,000 grant to replace the deteriorated clay tile roof and install a historically accurate slate roof.

Noble County: Ball State University will receive a $49,992 grant to conduct archaeological surveys at Chain O’Lakes State Park.

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods: Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College will receive a $50,000 grant to assist with the rehabilitation of the Cecelian Auditorium and the Conservatory of Music building.

South Bend: The City of South Bend will receive a $60,000 grant for rehabilitation of the Walker Park Field House.

Statewide: Ball State University will receive a $20,000 grant to assist with an ongoing project to identify and document historic synagogues throughout Indiana. The survey will also map the properties into a GIS system and provide research information to help list eligible buildings in the National Register of Historic Places.