Ostrom Workshop appoints new program leaders, creates a new board

INDIANA – Insa Theesfeld, a professor of agricultural, environmental, and food policy at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg in Germany, has been named the interim director of the Ostrom Workshop’s Commons Governance research program.

Dr. Insa Theesfeld

William Blomquist, professor of political science and director of the Liberal Arts and Management and the Individualized Major programs in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, has led the program for the past year and will retire this summer.

Jessica Steinberg

Jessica Steinberg has been appointed to spearhead the expansion of the Ostrom Workshop’s Environment and Natural Resource Governance Program. She is currently co-director of the program and an associate professor in the IU Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Affairs on the Bloomington campus.

The Ostrom Workshop has also created a new external advisory board made up of senior scholars from other universities and advisors from private philanthropies in an attempt to deepen relationships with partners and stakeholders outside IU.