Indiana Humanities Elects New Board Members, Slate of Officers

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The Indiana Humanities board of directors has appointed six new members and elected its slate of officers for 2020-21.

The new board members are: 

  • Dr. Cassandra Bausman, assistant professor and writing center director, Trine University, Angola
  • Ms. F. Brooke Dunn, associate, Faegre Baker Daniels, Indianapolis
  • Dr. Terri Jett, associate professor of political science, Butler University, Indianapolis
  • Ms. Suzanne M. Light, CEO, Kosciusko County Community Foundation, Warsaw
  • Mr. Mark Maassel, president, Indiana Energy Association, Valparaiso
  • State Rep. Jerry Torr, national account manager, Near North Title Group, Carmel

Indiana Humanities is a statewide nonprofit that encourages Hoosiers to think, read and talk by participating in humanities programs and activities. The organization is currently in the midst of a two-year INseparable initiative, which explores real and perceived differences among urban, suburban and rural Hoosiers.

Indiana Humanities’ new board officers are:


Mr. Doran Moreland – Vice president – diversity, equity and belonging, Ivy Tech Community College of Indianapolis


Mr. Chris Gahl – Senior vice president of marketing and communications, Visit Indy of Indianapolis


Ms. Rosemary Dorsa – Vice president, Indiana Philanthropy Alliance and director, GIFT Technical Assistance Program


Mr. Mark Maassel – President, Indiana Energy Association of Valparaiso

Other members are:

  • Ms. Keira Amstutz – President and CEO, Indiana Humanities of Indianapolis
  • Ms. Elizabeth Bechdol – President/CEO of AgriNovus Indiana of Auburn
  • Ms. Carol Ann Bowman – Retired, corporate secretary and general counsel, Whiteco Industries, Inc. of Merrillville
  • Mr. James M. Macdonald III – Executive director and market manager, J.P. Morgan Private Bank of Indianapolis
  • Mr. Chad Priest – Chief executive officer, American Red Cross Indiana Region of Indianapolis
  • Mr. Timothy P. Robinson – Assistant vice president, operations and grants administration, Lumina Foundation of Indianapolis
  • Mr. Adam D. Thies – Associate vice president, capital planning and facilities, Indiana University of Bloomington
  • Ms. Tiffany Tolbert – Senior field officer, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Chicago Field Office of Hobart
  • Dr. Joseph F. Trimmer – Emeritus professor of English and director emeritus, Virginia Ball Center for Creative Inquiry, Ball State University of Muncie
  • The Honorable Jonathan Weinzapfel – Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College Evansville Campus; former mayor of Evansville

About Indiana Humanities

Indiana Humanities connects people, opens minds and enriches lives by creating and facilitating programs that encourage Hoosiers to think, read and talk. Learn more at