Get Out And Vote In Republican Primary Today

(BEDFORD) – Get out and vote today in the Republican primary in Lawrence County.

The polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 6 p.m.
Election results will be aired beginning at 7 p.m. on 1340 AM WBIW, Super Oldies 105.5 and Lite FM 102.5 WPHZ as they come in and also streamed live on each station’s Facebook page.
The Election Board voted that since there are no Democrat races in the Cities of Bedford or Mitchell that there will be no Democrat Primary in this Municipal Election. All current 2019 Municipal Primary Election Democrat candidates will be certified and automatically advance to the 2019 November General Municipal Election.
Indiana’s photo ID law requires every voter to present a government-issued ID before casting their vote at the polls.
Registered voters can vote at any voting center:

  • Lawrence County Courthouse
  • Parkview Intermediate library entrance
  • Stalker Elementary School gym
  • Mitchell Community Building
  • Emerson School gym’s Ninth Street entrance in Mitchell

Lawrence County Clerk Billie Tumey reminds residents that those voting at local schools on Tuesday that there will be a lot of traffic during the beginning and end of the school day with students arriving and leaving school
The following are the Republican candidates who will appear on the primary ballot:
The City of Bedford

  • Bedford Mayor: Rick Butterfield, Sam Craig, Robert Garrett, Michael Hawkins, Gene McCracken, Sam Shaw.
  • Bedford Clerk-Treasurer: Marsha Pfeiffer.
  • Bedford City Council, District 1: Ryan Griffith, Brian Skillman
  • Bedford City Council, District 2: Larry D. Hardman
  • Bedford City Council, District 3: Brad Bough, Andrea Rope, Howard H. Scott
  • Bedford City Council, District 4: Judy Carlisle
  • Bedford City Council, District 5: Penny May
  • Bedford City Council, at large: (pick two) Dan Bortner, Angel Hawkins, Adele Bowden-Purlee

The City of Mitchell:

  • Mitchell Mayor: John “JD” England, Dan Terrell
  • Mitchell Clerk-Treasurer: Mark Bryant
  • Mitchell City Council, District 1: Michelle Wilfong Smith
  • Mitchell City Council, District 2: Nathan Jenkins
  • Mitchell City Council, District 3: Roger “Brother Moe” Keith, Perry Reynolds
  • Mitchell City Council, District 4: Daniel Talbott
  • Mitchell City Council, at large: William J. Erdle, George James