Early Voting Begins At Lawrence County Voter Registration Office

(BEDFORD) – Early voting began today in Indiana’s May 7th Municipal Primary Election in the Voter Registration office at the Lawrence County Courthouse.

checking in voting.JPG
david check.JPG
Beth Houllette checks in David Gregory this morning.
Early voting started off to a slow start this morning however, more than 99 Absentee Ballots were sent out in Mitchell, and six ballots for Bedford.
Oolitic will not have a Primary Election; a Convention of the Town will occur sometime in August.
Voters will need to show an Indiana driver’s license, an Indiana ID, a US passport, or other photo ID issued by the State of Indiana or the US Government.
early voting.JPG
Rose Cummings and Beth Houllette are ready for the early voters.
The office is open until 4:30 p.m. today.
Early voting is available Mondays through Fridays, 8:30 a.m. until noon and 1 p.m. until 4:30 p.m.
Saturday voting will take place on April 27 and May 4 at the Lawrence County Courthouse and at the Emerson Gym in Mitchell from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Officials ask that you use the Ninth Street entrance at Emerson Gym.
Because there are no contested Democratic races, the election board opted to cancel the party’s primary advancing all candidates.
The Republican candidates are:
Bedford Mayor

  • Rick Butterfield
  • Sam Craig
  • Robert Garrett
  • Michael Hawkins
  • Gene McCracken
  • Sam Shaw

Bedford Clerk-Treasurer:

  • Marsha Pfeiffer

Bedford City Council, District 1:

  • Ryan Griffith
  • Brian Skillman

Bedford City Council, District 2

  • Larry D. Hardman

Bedford City Council, District 3:

  • Brad Bough
  • Andrea Rope
  • Howard H. Scott

Bedford City Council, District 4

  • Judy Carlisle

Bedford City Council, District 5

  • Penny May

Bedford City Council, at Large (pick two):

  • Dan Bortner
  • Angel Hawkins
  • Adele Bowden-Purlee

Mitchell Race
Mitchell Mayor:

  • John “JD” England
  • Dan Terrell

Mitchell Clerk-Treasurer:

  • Mark Bryant

Mitchell City Council, District 1:

  • Michelle Wilfong Smith

Mitchell City Council, District 2:

  • Nathan Jenkins

Mitchell City Council, District 3:

  • Roger “Brother Moe” Keith
  • Perry Reynolds

Mitchell City Council, District 4

  • Daniel Talbott

Mitchell City Council, at Large:

  • William J. Erdle
  • George James