UPS Honors Indiana Drivers For 25 Years Of Safe Driving

(INDIANAPOLIS) – UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 40 elite drivers from Indiana are among 1,436 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

Indiana boasts 286 Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 8,366 years of accident-free driving. Charles Roach of Frankton is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 49 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 2,330 total full-time UPS drivers in Indiana.
“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Kevin Church, president, UPS Ohio Valley District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”
Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 56 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 50 years of safe driving. One hundred twenty six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.
UPS’s 125,000 small package drivers worldwide are among the safest on the roads, logging close to 4 billion miles a year and delivering 5.2 billion packages annually.
Collectively, these drivers have achieved more than 298,957 years of safe driving throughout their careers. That’s enough time behind the wheel to drive non-stop from Miami to San Diego – 68 million times. And they’ve done it while helping to deliver 3 percent of the world’s GDP – 20 million packages a day.
Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.
** NOTE: The following page lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center. If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.
Following is a list of Indiana drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.
Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Aldridge, Dawn Pekin Clarksville
Bacon, Stephen Laporte Westville
Bailey Jr., Byron Indianapolis Indianapolis
Bailey, Bradley Greenwood Indianapolis
Benner, Mark Granger Elkhart
Butler, Brent South Bend Indianapolis
Condra, Charles New Albany Louisville, KY
Edwards, Roger Crown Point Harvey, IL
Fowler, Richard Highland Chicago, IL
Graves, Bryan Crawfordsville Crawfordsville
Grisby, Martin Indianapolis Indianapolis
Harner, Lynn Plymouth Bourbon
Hertel, Todd South Bend South Bend
Holt, Jeffrey Indianapolis Indianapolis
Jacobs, Bruce Schererville Addison, IL
Jacobs, Jon Evansville Evansville
James, Kevin Lakeville Indianapolis
Jerger, Rodney Jasper Plainfield
Kwiecien, James La Porte Westville
Lawson, Steven Beech Grove Castleton
Leonard, David Rockville Terre Haute
Linkmeyer, Joe Cross Plains Versailles
Mahns, Barbara Valparaiso Hammond
Moser, Dale Huntertown Waterloo
Muncy, Spencer Jeffersonville Louisville, KY
Oberle, John Chesterton Indianapolis
Oser, Jeffrey Huntingburg Huntingburg
Pataky, Mark Munster Chicago, IL
Perkins, Michael Selma Anderson
Pierce, Frederick Fort Wayne Fort Wayne
Richardson, Russel Fort Wayne Fort Wayne
Roberts, Ross Spencer Bloomington
Robertson, Kenneth Indianapolis Castleton
Robinson, James Veedersburg Crawfordsville
Sears, Randall Speedway Indianapolis
Spaugh, Robert Elkhart Indianapolis
Thomas, Jason LaOtto Fort Wayne
Thomas, Keith Indianapolis Indianapolis
Weisner, Lisa Columbus Columbus
White, Russell Knox Westville