WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Kwiatkowski to Become Gov. Holcomb's Senior Education Advisor

Last updated on Friday, May 18, 2018

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Gov. Eric J. Holcomb today announced that he has selected Dr. Lee Ann Kwiatkowski to be his senior education advisor, replacing P.J. McGrew, who will become the director of policy for the Governor’s Workforce Cabinet.

"Lee Ann is a lifelong educator with a heart for serving Hoosier students," Gov. Holcomb said. "Her wealth of real life experience as a teacher, school administrator and leader at the Indiana Department of Education make her an ideal selection. I know she will provide valuable insight to me and my team, acting as a bridge between my administration and all who work to support student success in our state."

Since January 2017, Dr. Kwiatkowski has served as chief of staff to Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Jennifer McCormick. Before that, she was a principal and assistant superintendent for M.S.D. Warren Township. From 2005 to 2011, she worked for the Indiana Department of Education, leading Title I, differentiated learning and school turnaround efforts. She began her career in education in 1984 as a classroom teacher and literacy facilitator for Indianapolis Public Schools.

P.J. McGrew has served as the education policy director for then-Gov. Pence as well as Gov. Holcomb. In addition to his work in the governor's office, McGrew served as the associate policy director for the Indiana Education Roundtable, director of special projects for the Department of Workforce Development and chief of staff for the State Board of Education. Prior to his time as a government policy advisor, McGrew spent nearly ten years teaching high school math in Idaho and Indiana.

Dr. Kwiatkowski and McGrew will begin transitioning into their new roles next week.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page