News Sections
Indiana Department of Education Announces 2016-2017 Title I Distinguished Schools
Updated November 30, 2017 7:33 AM | Filed under: Education
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) today announced two schools as recipients of the 2016-2017 Title I Distinguished Schools Award. Recognition will go to Thomas Jefferson Elementary in Valparaiso Community Schools for their Exceptional Student Performance, and Fairmont Elementary School in New Albany-Floyd County Consolidated Schools for Closing the Achievement Gap.

"I applaud the dedicated work of the students, families, staff, and communities of Thomas Jefferson Elementary and Fairmont Elementary," said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. Both schools represent the vision of working together for student success by ensuring all children have opportunities to succeed."

IDOE selected Thomas Jefferson Elementary and Fairmont Elementary after a rigorous data review and interview process, to identify successful, high-poverty schools with a diverse student population. For more information visit this link.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File