News Sections
Indiana Department Of Education Announces Top 10 Finalists For The 2018 Teacher Of The Year
Updated September 5, 2017 6:51 AM | Filed under: Education
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) announced the top 10 finalists for the 2018 Teacher of the Year.

"Our students succeed because of exceptional instruction in the classroom," said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. "This list of educators is comprised of the best of the best across Indiana, and I am grateful for the dedication and hard work they show each and every day. Our teachers deserve all the support and recognition they can receive and I am happy to honor them through our Teacher of the Year program."

For over 60 years, IDOE has conducted the Teacher of the Year program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers from across the state. The program's mission is to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession. Finalists are chosen from a pool of applicants and the screening and selection committee is made up of former recipients, IDOE staff, educational organization leaders, business and community leaders, and representatives from higher education. Former winners are comprised of a network of teachers whom are now retired educators, administrators, college professors, and teacher leaders that continually provide support to the education community.

The 2018 Teacher of the Year will be selected and announced in October. As part of the award, the selected individual is also chosen to represent Indiana teachers at the national level.

List of the 2018 Teacher of the Year top 10 finalist

  • Lisa Eck, Franklin Township Community School Corporation, Arlington Elementary School
  • Julie Oelschlager, Hamilton Heights School Corporation, Hamilton Heights High School
  • Kathleen Rauth, Indianapolis Public Schools, Center for Inquiry at School 27
  • Jerome Flewelling, Crown Point Community School Corporation, Crown Point High School
  • Kristin Baker, Elkhart Community Schools, Elkhart Central High School
  • Heidi Hisrich, Richmond Community Schools, Richmond High School
  • Amanda Graham-Bishop, Community Schools of Frankfort, Frankfort High School
  • Dan Baker, Huntington County Community School Corporation, Huntington North High School
  • Kathleen Sarles, Franklin Community School Corporation, Franklin Community High School
  • Lena Darnay, MSD of Pike Township, Pike High School

To view a list of the 2018 Teacher of the Year top 10 finalists, please visit: For more information regarding the Indiana Teacher of the Year program, please visit:

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File