News Sections
Girl Scouts Announce Honorees For Indiana Lt. Governor's Leadership Luncheon
Updated May 19, 2017 6:34 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Girl Scouts of Central Indiana will present the Indiana Lt. Governor's Leadership Luncheon on Tuesday, November 7, from noon to 1:30 p.m. at the Indiana Roof Ballroom.

Doors open at 11:30 a.m. The event will honor Dr. Lisa Harris, chief executive officer of Eskenazi Health; Dr. Dottie King, president of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College; and Carolene Mays-Medley, executive director of White River State Park Development Commission. Yvonne Perkins, former vice president of community relations at Citizens Energy, will be honored in memoriam.

"This is such an exciting time to be the chair of the Lt. Governor's Leadership Luncheon, as we are celebrating 100 years of Girl Scouts in Indiana," said Elaine Bedel, president of Indiana Economic Development Corporation and owner of Bedel Financial Consulting. "The four Hoosier women who've been chosen as this year's honorees are wonderful examples of Girl Scouts' mission of building girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place. This is Girl Scouts of Central Indiana's largest annual fundraising event, and the Lt. Governor and I have set an ambitious goal of raising $500,000 in celebration of our centennial anniversary. I'm certain that with all the community's help, we can make it happen for our girls."

Last year's Indiana Lt. Governor's Leadership Luncheon raised more than $275,000. Table sponsorships are available for $2,500 and include seating for 10 people. For more information, contact Karen Schuman, chief development officer, at 317-924-6852 or or visit

The luncheon is sponsored by Ball State University, JP Morgan Chase, Kroger, and Saint Mary of the Woods College.

About the honorees:

Dottie L. King, Ph.D.

dottie king.jpg

Dottie L. King, Ph.D. serves as the 16th president of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College. King combines solid academic credentials with an exceptional blend of experience in teaching, research, service and administrative leadership to advance the mission of the College. She places special emphasis on collaboration with involvement in many organizations and initiatives. King serves on the Indiana 8th Congressional District Higher Education Advisory Committee, the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities board, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce's Business-Higher Education Forum, the chair of the Independent Colleges of Indiana and the chair of the Wabash Valley United Way board and a member of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities and the Council of Independent Colleges. In 2016, King received the Sagamore of the Wabash, the highest civilian distinction in Indiana for her leadership and strategic vision for the College. She holds bachelor's and master's degrees in mathematics and a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction/educational leadership from Indiana State University. She has delivered numerous presentations and published research on factors that encourage women to persist in their study of mathematics.

Carolene Mays-Medley

carolene Mays.jpg

Carolene Mays-Medley serves as executive director of the White River State Park Development Commission (WSRP). In February 2010, Carolene was appointed by Governor Mitch Daniels as a commissioner for the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC). She is a recognized leader and speaker in cyber and physical security and was named a 2013 Smart Grid Today Top 50 Smart Grid Pioneer. She was publisher and president of the Indianapolis Recorder Newspaper and the Indiana Minority Business Magazine. Carolene also served three terms as an Indiana State Representative. Previously, at Mays Chemical Co., she was manager of customer service and National Accounts; and at Occidental Chemical Co. she held positions in sales and corporate account management throughout the United States. Carolene serves on numerous boards including One America Financial Services, Peyton Manning's PeyBack Foundation, Center for Leadership Development, National Institute of Fitness and Sport, Child Advocates Advisory Board, and a lifetime board member of the Indiana Sports Corporation. In 2016, Carolene was honored with a Sagamore of the Wabash. Carolene has a B.S. in Business Management from Indiana State University and is currently a candidate for a Masters of Jurisprudence from Indiana University McKinney School of Law.

Lisa E. Harris, M.D.


Dedicating her career to improving health care for vulnerable and underserved populations, Lisa E. Harris, M.D., has practiced medicine for 30 years at nationally recognized Eskenazi Health. Today, Dr. Harris serves as Eskenazi Health's chief executive officer, leading one of America's essential health care systems that also serves as a vital training ground for the Indiana University School of Medicine. In addition to her leadership role at Eskenazi Health, Dr. Harris remains actively engaged in patient care, research and teaching. And, as past chair of America's Essential Hospitals (formerly the National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems), Dr. Harris has nurtured the organization's strong presence on Capitol Hill, advocating for our nation's most vulnerable populations. Dr. Harris serves as president of the board of directors of the American Red Cross of Indiana, as well as on the boards of directors for the Regenstrief Institute, Julian Center, Second Helpings, MESH (Managed Emergency Surge for Healthcare), and the inaugural board of directors of the Patachou Foundation, focused on providing healthful food to homeless children. She also serves on the boards of United Way of Central Indiana and the Christian Theological Seminary and served as the 2015 chair of the American Heart Association's Go Red for Women initiative.

Past honorees

Judge Sarah Evans Barker, Elaine Bedel, Angela Braly, Congresswoman Susan Brooks, Angela Brown, Angela Cain, Dr. Virginia Caine, Tamika Catchings, Dr. France Còrdova, Alecia DeCoudreaux, Lin Dunn, Margot Lacy Eccles, Dr. Sue Ellspermann, Sarah Fisher, Jennett Hill, Mari Hulman George, Marianne Glick, Dr. Jo Ann Gora, Cindy Hoye, Karen Jung, The Honorable Maggie Lewis, Dr. Rose Mays, Allison Melangton, Jackie Morris, Ann Murtlow, Judy O'Bannon, Tanya Stuart Overdorf, Dr. Beverley Pitts, Shanel Poole, Judge Tanya Walton Pratt, Sallie Rowland, Anne Ryder, Rabbi Sandy Sasso, Yvonne Shaheen, Becky Skillman, Judge Viola J. Taliaferro and Tamara Zahn.

We're Girl Scouts

We're 2.6 million strong--1.8 million girls and 800,000 adults who believe in the power of every G.I.R.L. (Go-getter, Innovator, Risk-taker, Leader)™ to change the world. Our extraordinary journey began more than 100 years ago with the original G.I.R.L., Juliette Gordon "Daisy" Low. On March 12, 1912, in Savannah, Georgia, she organized the very first Girl Scout troop, and every year since, we've honored her vision and legacy, building girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place. We're the preeminent leadership development organization for girls. And with programs from coast to coast and across the globe, Girl Scouts offers every girl a chance to practice a lifetime of leadership, adventure, and success. To volunteer, reconnect, donate, or join, visit or call 855.GSCIN.4U.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File