News Sections
Hoosier Families Honored For Their Agricultural Heritage
Updated April 10, 2017 5:37 AM | Filed under: Agriculture
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch and Indiana State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) Director Ted McKinney presented 39 families with a Hoosier Homestead Award in recognition of their commitment to Indiana agriculture.

"Agriculture contributes $31 billion to our state's economy, and it's because of the hard work, dedication and innovation of Indiana's farming families," said Lt. Governor Crouch. "I want to congratulate them on earning the Hoosier Homestead Award and for their commitment to continuing Indiana's legacy as an agricultural leader."

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for more than 100 consecutive years, and consist of more than 20 acres or produce more than $1000 of agricultural products per year. Based on the number of years, farms were eligible to receive the Centennial Award for 100 years of ownership, the Sesquicentennial Award for 150 years of ownership and the Bicentennial Award for 200 years of ownership. Notably, the Bicentennial Award was presented to one family during Friday's ceremony.

Since the program's inception in 1976, more than 5,000 families have received the Hoosier Homestead Award.

"Generation after generation of Indiana's farming families have dedicated their lives to feeding their neighbors, the state and the world," Director McKinney said. "They have contributed so much to our state's legacy, both economically and socially, and are the engine that drives our industry forward. It was an honor to recognize all of these great families at the Statehouse."

Below is a list of the Hoosier Homestead Award recipients honored during the spring 2017 ceremony:

  • Adams County, Daniel Roth 1866 Sesquicentennial
  • Bartholomew County, Glenn & Nellie Glick 1846 Sesquicentennial
  • Bartholomew County Original Speaker Lane Farm 1908 Centennial
  • Clark County, Clifton Eve/Elizabeth Weidner Family Farm 1915 Centennial
  • Clark County, Dreyer, 1865, Sesquicentennial
  • Decatur County, Deniston, 1866, Sesquicentennial
  • Decatur County, Evans, 1834, Sesquicentennial
  • Dubois County, Balsmeyer Family Farm, 1853, Centennial
  • Dubois County, Balsmeyer Family Farm, 1853, Sesquicentennial
  • Dubois County, Egler, 1841, Centennial
  • Dubois County, Egler, 1841, Sesquicentennial
  • Dubois County, Leo C. Welp, 1916, Centennial
  • Floyd County, Sperzel, 1915, Centennial
  • Floyd County, Collins - Taylor - Jacobi, 1816, Bicentennial
  • Fountain County, Alford, 1907, Centennial
  • Franklin County, Beneker, 1887, Centennial
  • Harrison County, Hausz, 1903, Centennial
  • Henry County, Lacy Homestead Farm, 1864, Sesquicentennial
  • Howard County, Fleming, 1857, Sesquicentennial
  • Jackson County, Wischmeier/Wehmiller, 1866 Sesquicentennial
  • Jay County, Bricher, 1863, Centennial
  • Jay County, Bricher, 1863, Sesquicentennial
  • Jay County, Journay Homestead, Wanda Lou & Merle Stewart, 1887, Centennial
  • Jay County, Charles Muhlenkamp, 1915, Centennial
  • Jay County, Young, 1863, Sesquicentennial
  • Jefferson County, Owens, 1916, Centennial
  • Knox County, Otten, 1859, Sesquicentennial
  • Marshall County, Mishler, 1860, Sesquicentennial
  • Monroe County, Pafford, 1866, Sesquicentennial
  • Noble County, The Coats Family Farm, 1849. Sesquicentennial
  • Perry County, Casey, 1867, Sesquicentennial
  • Putnam County, Hurst, 1886, Centennial
  • Ripley County, Jesse Donald Meinders, 1878, Centennial
  • Ripley County, Schneider, 1898, Centennial
  • Rush County, Cole, 1882, Centennial
  • Rush County, Cole, 1895, Centennial
  • Spencer County, Kirby Baum, 1860, Centennial
  • Spencer County, Kirby Baum, 1860, Sesquicentennial
  • Spencer County, Schaaf/Hay, 1892, Centennial
  • Starke County, Luedtke Dairy Farm, 1896, Centennial
  • Tipton County, Gall, 1916, Centennial
  • Tipton County, Kirkendall Family Farm, 1894, Centennial
  • Wabash County, Orville & Phyllis Brodt, 1879, Centennial
  • White County, Godlove, 1863, Sesquicentennial

For more information about the Hoosier Homestead Awards, please visit Photos from today's ceremony will be posted to ISDA's Flickr page by Wednesday, April 12, 2017.


The Indiana State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) was established as a separate state agency by the Legislature in 2005. The Director is appointed by the Governor and is a member of the Governor's Cabinet. Administratively, ISDA reports to Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch, who also serves as Indiana's Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development. Major responsibilities include advocacy for Indiana agriculture at the local, state and federal level, managing soil conservation programs, promoting economic development and agricultural innovation, serving as a regulatory ombudsman for agricultural businesses, and licensing grain firms throughout the state.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File