News Sections
Twenty-One Apply For Indiana Supreme Court Vacancy
Updated March 7, 2017 7:03 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Judicial Nominating Commission received twenty-one applications for the upcoming Indiana Supreme Court vacancy.

The following attorneys and judges have applied for the seat which will be available when Justice Robert D. Rucker retires in the spring of 2017 after 26 years on the bench.


  • Mr. Dale W. Arnett, Winchester, Indiana
  • Hon. Vicki L. Carmichael, Clark Circuit Court 4
  • Mr. Stephen R. Creason, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Mr. Ralph E. Dowling, Muncie, Indiana
  • Hon. Peter R. Foley, Morgan Superior Court 1
  • Hon. Christopher M. Goff, Wabash Superior Court
  • Hon. Clayton A. Graham, Marion Superior Court, Criminal Div. 7
  • Hon. Maria D. Granger, Floyd Superior Court 3
  • Ms. Elizabeth C. Green, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Mr. Lyle R. Hardman, South Bend, Indiana
  • Ms. Leslie C. Henderzahs, Fishers, Indiana
  • Hon. Steven L. Hostetler, St. Joseph Superior Court
  • Hon. Matthew C. Kincaid, Boone Superior Court 1
  • Hon. Larry W. Medlock, Washington Circuit Court
  • Ms. Jaime M. Oss, La Porte, Indiana
  • Mr. Bryce D. Owens, Pendleton, Indiana
  • Mr. William N. Riley, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Mr. Peter J. Rusthoven, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Mr. Andrew U. D. Straw, Schaumburg, Illinois
  • Rep. Thomas M. Washburne, Evansville, Indiana
  • Ms. Leanna K. Weissmann, Lawrenceburg, Indiana

According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill the vacancy on the state's highest court.

To be eligible for nomination as a justice of the Supreme Court, the Indiana Constitution requires that a person be domiciled in the state, a U.S. citizen, and admitted to practice as a lawyer for 10 years or served as a Circuit or Superior Court judge for at least 5 years. The Commission will review applications, consider applicants' eligibility, legal education, writings, reputation in the practice of law, and other pertinent information to decide who to interview.

Initial interviews are March 20-22 with a second round of interviews April 17-19. They are open to the public and will take place at the Indiana State House in room 319. When the March interview schedule is made public, applications and photographs will be available online. Attachments, including writing samples and transcripts, will be available in the Supreme Court Law Library.

After interviews and deliberations in an executive session, the Commission will publicly vote to send the three most qualified names to Governor Eric Holcomb. The Governor has 60 days to select Indiana's next justice.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File