News Sections
McCormick Announces Cabinet And Directors, Also Announces Expert
Updated January 11, 2017 6:29 AM | Filed under: Education
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Dr. Jennifer McCormick announced key members to her Indiana Department of Education (DOE) leadership team.

Dr. McCormick stated, "I am thrilled to have such a talented, solid team. Each person brings a unique skill set and area of expertise to the DOE, and we are united inour focus on the students of Indiana. I look forward to what we will accomplish with such a stellar team."

Dr. Lee Ann Kwiatkowski will serve as Chief of Staff, and Dr. Mark Keen will serve as Senior Advisor.

They will be joined by:


Marsha Bugalla has been chosen as General Counsel. Bugalla has over 20 years of experience in labor and employment, litigation, and medical malpractice. She most recently served at Frost Brown Todd as general counsel representing school districts in litigation and special education. Kent Hatcher has been chosen to serve as the Chief Financial Officer. Hatcherhas over 20 years of experience in the finance field. Most recently, he served as the CFO for the Indiana Education Employment Relations Board. Returning to the DOE (2007-2013), Dr. John Keller has been selected to serve as the Chief Technology Officer. Dr. Keller most recently served as the Director of eLearning for MSD of Warren Township. He has served as an adjunct professor for various universities including IUPUI and recently completed five years as a board member for the International Society for Technology in Education.

Dr. Scott Syverson has been selected as the Chief Talent Officer. Dr. Syverson has 25 years of experience in the educational field where he has served as a teacher, school administrator, and executive director. He most recently served as the Director for The New Teacher Project (TNTP).

Kelly Wittman has been selected as the Chief Academic Officer. She has spent 26 years as an educator with the last 14 years as a building level administrator. Wittman has worked in urban education with the Cleveland Metropolitan School District in Ohio and hasserved as principal at Yorktown High School for 10 years.


Dr. Addie Angelov has been chosen to serve asthe Director of Research. Dr. Angelov has been an Indiana educator for 18 years. Most recently,she was the Senior Director of Exceptional Ed at Goodwill

Education Initiatives and Affiliated Associate Professor at the University of Indianapolis.

Michael Brown has been selected as the Legislative Affairs Director after serving 7 years with the General Assembly. Brown is a 2015 graduate from the Robert H. McKinney School of Law and most recently served as a legislative assistant for the Indiana State Senate.

Molly Deuberry has been chosen as the Director of Communications.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File