News Sections
Arts Commission Accepting Nominations For 2017 Indiana Governor's Arts Awards
Updated January 12, 2017 6:53 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced it is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Governor's Arts Awards.

Nomination forms are now available on the IAC website at Nominations will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. (EDT) March 15, 2017.

Nominations may also be completed in a .pdf format and submitted by email to

Nominations originally made, but not selected for the 2015 / 2016 Bicentennial Governor's Arts Awards will automatically be reconsidered for 2017. However, nominators may wish to submit updated information if there have been significant changes in the nominee's accomplishments or contributions to the arts since the original nomination was made.

Originally presented in 1973, the biennial awards recognize excellence in artistic achievement, philanthropy, arts education, and leadership in the arts. The awards also build statewide awareness of the important role the arts plan in Indiana.

A new addition for the 2017 Governor's Arts Awards will the opportunity to recognize and encourage the work on emerging artists.

"The awards have traditionally honored established artists, but Indiana has a legacy of producing outstanding young talent and the Indiana Arts Commission is committed to helping artists build their careers and achieve success here at home," said Lewis C. Ricci, IAC Executive Director. "Indiana has a significantly higher percentage of self-employed artists than the national average. We want to encourage those artists to stay here, produce their work here, which only enhances Indiana's reputation as a state that creates."

Previous recipients of the state's highest honor in the arts include Bicentennial Governor's Arts Award recipients American Pianists Association; cartoonist and entrepreneur Jim Davis; Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds; arts collectors and philanthropists Robert and Ellen Haan; choreographer and educator David Hochoy and Dance Kaleidoscope; legendary jazz guitarist Wes Montgomery. For a complete list of all Governor's Arts Award recipients, please visit the IAC website.

Questions about the 2017 Governor's Arts Awards should be directed to Rex Van Zant at (317) 232-1273 or email

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, every day, for everyone in Indiana.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File