News Sections
Governor-Elect Holcomb Reappoints Department Of Health Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner
Updated December 21, 2016 7:06 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Governor-elect Holcomb announced today the reappointment of Dr. Jerome Adams as Commissioner of the Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) and Dr. Jennifer Walthall as Deputy Commissioner, effective January 9, 2017.

"Dr. Adams and Dr. Walthall bring unparalleled knowledge and experience to the Department of Health, and Hoosiers are lucky to have their public health service," said Governor-elect Eric Holcomb. "I am thrilled they have agreed to stay on board and I look forward to working closely with them both to create a healthier Indiana."

Dr. Jerome Adams, ISDH Commissioner:

Dr. Adams was appointed by Governor Mike Pence as the Indiana State Health Commissioner in October of 2014. He also serves as secretary of Indiana State Department of Health's executive board as chairman of the Indiana State Trauma Care Committee and co-chairman of the Indiana Perinatal Quality Improvement Collaborative Governing Council. Dr. Adams is a member of the Commission on Improving the Status of Children in Indiana, the National Governor's Association (NGA) Health Workforce Policy Academy Core Team, and the Indiana Commission to Combat Drug Abuse. Dr. Adams currently serves as assistant professor of clinical anesthesia at Indiana University School of Medicine and as a staff anesthesiologist at Eskenazi Health, where he is Chair of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. He has served in the leadership of several professional organizations, including the American Medical Association, and on the Boards of the Indiana State Medical Association and Indiana Society of Anesthesiologists. He is immediate past Chair of the Professional Diversity Committee for the American Society of Anesthesiologists. He earned a BS in biochemistry and a BA in biopsychology at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. He has been a researcher at medical schools in both the Netherlands and Zimbabwe and has worked under Nobel Prize winner Dr. Tom Cech. He earned his Medical Doctorate at the Indiana University School of Medicine, and his Masters of Public Health at the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Jennifer Walthall, Deputy Commissioner:

Jennifer Walthall, M.D., M.P.H. was appointed as the Indiana State Department of Health Deputy State Health Commissioner and Director for Health Outcomes by Governor Pence in November of 2014. Dr. Walthall is currently an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics at Indiana University School of Medicine. She also serves as the Division Chief for Pediatric Emergency Medicine and the Program Director for the Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics Residency. Previously, she worked as attending staff physician for Methodist Hospital Emergency Medicine and Trauma Center and Riley Hospital for Children. She has also held a number of roles specializing in clinical emergency medicine and pediatrics as both an academic and practicing physician. She earned her undergraduate degree from the University of Houston Honors College and her Master in Public Health at Indiana University. She earned her Medical Doctorate at Indiana University School of Medicine.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File