News Sections
United State Senate Resolution Recognizing 100th Running Of Indianapolis 500
Updated May 27, 2016 6:17 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS
Senator Dan Coats
Senator Joe Donnelly

(WASHINGTON, DC) - The United States Senate Wednesday passed a resolution introduced by Senators Dan Coats (R-Ind.) and Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.) that recognizes the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 29.

Resolution Recognizing 100th Indianapolis 500 Led by Indiana Senators Passes U.S. Senate

Senators spoke on Senate floor commemorating the race.


May 25, 2016

Coats: Matt Lahr, 202-224-5623

Donnelly: Donnelly_Press@Donnelly.Senate.Gov, 202-224-0972

The two Indiana Senators spoke on the Senate floor Wednesday afternoon about the history of the Indianapolis 500, its importance to Indiana and how the event is a unique celebration of Hoosier culture.

The full text of the Coats/Donnelly resolution is below:


Recognizing the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race.

Whereas founders Carl G. Fisher, Arthur C. Newby, Frank H. Wheeler, and James A. Allison pooled their resources in 1909 to build the Indianapolis Motor Speedway six miles from downtown Indianapolis as a testing ground to support the growing automotive industry of Indiana, paving the way for motorsport innovation;

Whereas in 1909 the track was surfaced with 3.2 million paving bricks, at a cost of $400,000;

Whereas on May 30, 1911, the first Indianapolis 500 Mile Race took place and was won by Ray Harroun in 6 hours and 42 minutes at an average speed of 74.6 miles per hour;

Whereas the Indianapolis 500 has occurred on every Memorial Day weekend since 1911, except during the involvement of the United States in world wars from 1917 through 1918 and 1942 through 1945;

Whereas in 1936 Louis Meyer, after his third win of the Indianapolis 500, established the iconic tradition of drinking milk in the winner's circle;

Whereas Tony Hulman purchased the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1945, restoring the track and restarting the Indianapolis 500 after its cancellation during World War II;

Whereas the Indianapolis 500 is the largest single day sporting event in the world, with more than 300,000 fans packing the grandstands and the expansive infield of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Race Day;

Whereas the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race has played an integral part in the culture and heritage of the City of Indianapolis, the State of Indiana, United States motorsports, and the United States automobile industry;

Whereas the Indianapolis Motor Speedway has been a showcase of speed, human achievement, and the continuous pursuit in the quest for glory, and is a source of great pride to all citizens of Indiana;

Whereas Tony Kanaan set the record for the fastest Indianapolis 500, finishing it in a little over 2 hours and 40 minutes at an average speed of 187.4 miles per hour;

Whereas in 2016, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and racing fans around the world are preparing to celebrate the Greatest Spectacle in Racing for the 100th time: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the Senate recognizes the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File