News Sections
Three Area Residents Apply For Indiana Supreme Court Vacancy
Updated January 27, 2016 7:59 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Three area residents have applied for the upcoming Indiana Supreme Court vacancy.

Locally, attorneys Karen A. Wyle, and John H. Shean, both of Bloomington and Washington Circuit Court Judge Larry W. Medlock have applied to fill the seat of Justice Brent E. Dickerson, who is retiring on April 26 after serving as a judicial branch leader for more than 30 years.

According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill the vacancy on the state's highest court. The Commission will review applications, consider applicants' legal education, writings, reputation in the practice of law, and other pertinent information.

Initial interviews are February 17-19 with a second round March 3-4. They are open to the public and will take place at the Indiana State House in room 319.

When the February interview schedule is made public, applications and photographs will be available online. Attachments, including writing samples and transcripts, will be available February 5 from 10 a.m. till 11:30 a.m. in the Supreme Court Law Library. After February 5, the attachments are available in person at the library.

After interviews and deliberations in an executive session, the Commission will publicly vote to send the three most qualified names to Governor Mike Pence. The Governor has 60 days to select Indiana's next justice.

The following attorneys and judges have applied for the seat:

1. Hon. James R. Ahler, Jasper Superior Court

2. Hon. Vicki L. Carmichael, Clark Circuit Court 4

3. Hon. Paul R. Cherry, U.S. District Ct., Hammond

4. Eugene N. Chipman, Jr., Plymouth

5. David E. Cook, Indianapolis

6. Hon. Kit C. Crane, Henry Circuit Court 2

7. Hon. Darrin M. Dolehanty, Wayne Superior Court 3

8. Hon. Thomas J. Felts, Allen Circuit Court

9. Thomas M. Fisher, Indianapolis

10. Elizabeth C. Green, Indianapolis

11. Hon. Frances C. Gull, Allen Superior Court

12. Lyle R. Hardman, South Bend

13. Hon. Steven L. Hostetler, St. Joseph Superior Court

14. Hon. Matthew C. Kincaid, Boone Superior Court 1

15. Mark A. Lienhoop, La Porte

16. Hon. Sally A. McLaughlin, Dearborn Superior Court 2

17. Hon. Larry W. Medlock, Washington Circuit Court

18. Hon. Steven R. Nation, Hamilton Superior Court 1

19. Jaime M. Oss, Michigan City

20. Bryce D. Owens, Pendleton

21. Peter J. Rusthoven, Indianapolis

22. John H. Shean, Bloomington

23. Curtis E. Shirley, Indianapolis

24. Geoffrey G. Slaughter, Indianapolis

25. Ted A. Waggoner, Rochester

26. Rep. Thomas W. Washburne, Evansville

27. Leanna K. Weissmann, Lawrenceburg

28. Thomas E. Wheeler, II, Indianapolis

29. Karen A. Wyle, Bloomington

30. Thomas P. Yoder, Fort Wayne

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File