News Sections
Northern Indiana Public Safety Professionals To Deploy As IDHS Incident Management Team To Maryland
Updated January 26, 2016 7:13 AM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(SOUTH BEND) - An Indiana Department of Homeland Security incident management team (IMT) from Northern Indiana will begin traveling to Maryland Monday night for a seven-day deployment to assist the City of Baltimore with severe weather affecting the region.

The IDHS deployment is a Type 3 IMT comprised of members from IDHS districts 1, 2 and 3.

"Hoosiers' first thoughts are nearly always, 'How can I help?' " said Indiana Governor Mike Pence. "The willingness of local public safety professionals to help others goes well beyond the borders of our state. Indiana is in a strong position to lend assistance and resources to our neighbors in need, and I applaud the team for its commitment to service."

The IDHS IMT will assist the City of Baltimore with logistics, mission tracking, resource logging and staging area operations.

The following individuals are members of the IMT:

  • Kent Stouder, Elkhart City Fire Department
  • Gary Horvath, South Bend Police Department
  • TR Hagerty, Angola Fire Department
  • Darryl Eiler, South Bend Fire Department
  • Mike Pennington, Elkhart County Emergency Management Agency
  • Roger Powers, DeKalb County Emergency Management Agency
  • Ed Rock, Kosciusko County Emergency Management Agency
  • Sheri Gaillard, Pulaski County Emergency Management Agency
  • Mike Rheim, Kendallville Fire Department
  • Mike Weber, Porter County Emergency Management Agency
  • Lucas Gluchowski, Clay Fire Department
  • Brian McLaughlin, South Bend Fire Department
  • Matt Dhoore, Clay Fire Department
  • Larry Hoover, Fulton County Emergency Management Agency
  • Ron Melser, Clay Fire Department
  • Kenny Miller, Clay Fire Department
  • John Jarka, Chesterton Fire Department

A Type 3 IMT is a multi-jurisdictional team used for extended incidents that is formed and managed at the local, state or tribal level. Type 3 IMTs are deployed as a team of 10-20 trained personnel representing multiple disciplines from different departments, organizations, agencies and jurisdictions who manage complex incidents requiring a significant number of local, state or tribal resources.

IDHS District 1 is comprised of Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton and Jasper counties. IDHS District 2 is comprised of St. Joseph, Elkhart, Starke, Marshall, Kosciusko, Pulaski and Fulton counties. IDHS District 3 is comprised of LaGrange, Steuben, Noble, DeKalb, Whitley, Allen, Miami, Wabash, Huntington, Wells and Adams counties. For a district map, go to

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File