News Sections
8 Members Of Indiana Senate Won't Seek Re-Election
Updated January 14, 2016 5:20 AM | Filed under: Politics
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Democratic Indiana state Sen. Jim Arnold of LaPorte says he won't run for re-election.

The 71-year-old Arnold becomes the eighth state senator to announce he is retiring or running for other office. He previously had announced he would see a third term, but said he changed his mind.

State Rep. David Niezgodski, a South Bend Democrat, has announced plans to run for the Senate seat being vacated by state Sen. John Broden, also a South Bend Democrat, who is running to become a St. Joseph circuit judge.

Others who have announced they won't seek re-election are Republicans Patricia Miller and Scott Schneider, both of Indianapolis, Brent Steele of Bedford, Brent Waltz of Greenwood and Carlin Yoder of Middlebury and Democrat Earline Rogers of Gary.

Waltz is running for Congress.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File