News Sections
Plymouth Student Indiana's State Poetry Out Loud Champion
Updated February 27, 2014 4:08 PM
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that Emma Libersky, a student from Plymouth High School, Plymouth, Indiana, won top honors in the 2014 Indiana Poetry Out Loud State Finals.

Libersky was chosen from a field of 18 finalists from Indiana schools participating in this year's competition held February 22 at the Central Branch of the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library, Indianapolis. She becomes the first repeat State Champion in the eight year history of the competition.

Daniel Robinson, Pike High School, Indianapolis, Indiana was the First Runner-Up, and Ming Washington, from LaLumiere School, LaPorte, Indiana was Second Runner-Up. Robinson was Second Runner-Up in the 2013 competition.

Finalists in the 2014 Indiana Poetry Out Loud competition included:

Raven Blessinger, Forest Park Jr. - Sr. High School, Ferdinand, IN
Elizabeth Collier, Brown County High School, Nashville, IN
Madison Darlage, Columbus Christian school, Columbus, IN
Katie Doehrmann, Eagle Tech Academy at Columbia City HS, Columbia City, IN
Mac Ely, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School, Indianapolis, IN
Sabrina Labrosse-Elmore, Broad Ripple Magnet High School, Indianapolis, IN
Emma Libersky, Plymouth High School, Plymouth, IN
Megan Lowman, Warsaw Community High School, Warsaw, IN
Matt Massengale, Columbus Signature Academy New Tech, Columbus, IN
Eliana Monaghan, Anderson Preparatory Academy, Anderson, IN
Tasha Pullam, Todd Academy, Indianapolis, IN
Phiona Raffington, Bloomington High School South, Bloomington, IN
Daniel Robinson, Pike High School, Indinapolis - First Runner-Up
Nicole Schapker, Signature School, Evansville, IN
Savannah Sexton, Eastern Greene High School, Bloomfield, IN
Alec Steel, Canterbury School, Fort Wayne, IN
Mason Walther, Homestead High School, Fort Wayne, IN
Ming Washington, La Lumiere School, LaPorte, IN - Second Runner-Up

The state champion receives a $200 cash prize and an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C. to compete in the Poetry Out Loud National Finals in late April. The state champion's school receives a $500 stipend to purchase poetry books.

A total of $50,000 in scholarship awards and school stipends will be awarded at the Poetry Out Loud National Finals, with a $20,000 college scholarship awarded to the national champion. The National Championship features competitors from all 50 state, the District of Columbia, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.

Launched in 2006, the annual poetry recitation contest is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and the Poetry Foundation, and is open to any Indiana high school. Participating high schools conduct initial competitions to determine one student to represent the school at the state finals.

The Poetry Out Loud program is designed to encourage youth to learn about great poetry through memorization and performance, and help students master public speaking skills, build self-esteem, and internalize an appreciation for American literary heritage.

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, everyday, for everyone in Indiana.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File