WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Indiana Teacher Of The Year Finalists Announced

Last updated on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Ten finalists for Indiana Teacher of the Year have been announced.

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz released the names Monday. The winner will be announced in October.

"As a life-long educator, I have always been impressed by the work the teachers do throughout Indiana day after day," said Superintendent Ritz. "These teachers have demonstrated their dedication to their craft and their students and I am honored to name them as finalists for Indiana Teacher of the Year."

The 2014 Top Ten Teacher of the Year finalists are as follows:

Susan Ament
Grades 9-12 German
Plainfield High School
Plainfield Community School Corporation

Sarah Shatto-Jones
Grades 9-12 Visual Arts
Homestead High School
Southwest Allen County Schools

Lauren Kniola
School Librarian
New Augusta Public Academy South
Metropolitan School District of Pike Township

Emily J. Oberlin
Grades 9-12 World History
South Side High School
Fort Wayne Community Schools

Susan E. Panzica, Ph.D.
Swanson Primary Center
South Bend Community School Corporation

Steven R. Perkins
Grades 8-12 Latin
North Central High School
Metropolitan School District of Washington Township

Kelly Jean Scott
Grades K-5 Data Coach & Interventionist
Storer Elementary School
Muncie Community Schools

Denise E. Selm
Grades 9-12 Business
Richmond High School
Richmond Community Schools

Meg Strnat
4th Grade REACH Teacher
Cumberland Road Elementary School
Hamilton Southeastern Schools

Renee White
3rd Grade General Education
Carmel Elementary School
Carmel Clay Schools

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page