News Sections
All Counties Declared Natural Disaster Areas
Updated May 5, 2013 12:12 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS) - Wednesday afternoon all 92 Indiana counties were declared as primary natural disaster areas by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Lt. Governor Becky Skillman and Indiana State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency Julia Wickard wrote to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Thomas Vilsack on July 25, describing the excessive amount of heat, freeze, frost, and drought throughout Indiana.

The USDA concluded the information warranted the declaration for the disaster counties.

"It's been one challenge after another this year for our farmers, who provide so much for all of our families. This is another great step in the recovery process, and we remain committed to helping members of our agricultural community get through these difficult times and move forward with renewed optimism," Skillman said.

The declaration now gives farmers in eligible counties the chance to "gain low-interest emergency loans through the USDA's Farm Service Agency," according to the press release. FSA will review each individual loan request according to their situation.

"This designation is important because it provides relief to all producers across Indiana who have suffered a qualifying loss of 30 percent or greater of at least one crop," said Wickard.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File