WBIW.com News - state

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

Governor Daniels Requests Federal Aid For 6 Counties

Last updated on Friday, March 9, 2012

(INDIANAPOLIS)(AP) - Gov. Mitch Daniels wants President Barack Obama to declare six southern Indiana counties a federal disaster area.

Daniels requesting federal aid Thursday for Clark, Jefferson, Ripley, Scott, Warrick and Washington counties because of tornadoes and other severe storms last week.

Daniels says a preliminary assessment has determined 187 primary residences were destroyed and 88 received major damage in the six counties. Businesses and public infrastructure also were damaged.

Daniels specifically requested use of the Individual Assistance Programs, which can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs and other programs to help individuals and businesses.

Daniels says the federal disaster request does not currently include Gibson, Harrison, Posey, Shelby and Vanderburgh counties because of less extensive damage. Daniels had also included those counties in a state disaster emergency declaration.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page