News Sections
Governor Daniels Requests Federal Aid For 6 Counties
Updated May 5, 2013 12:10 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(INDIANAPOLIS)(AP) - Gov. Mitch Daniels wants President Barack Obama to declare six southern Indiana counties a federal disaster area.

Daniels requesting federal aid Thursday for Clark, Jefferson, Ripley, Scott, Warrick and Washington counties because of tornadoes and other severe storms last week.

Daniels says a preliminary assessment has determined 187 primary residences were destroyed and 88 received major damage in the six counties. Businesses and public infrastructure also were damaged.

Daniels specifically requested use of the Individual Assistance Programs, which can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs and other programs to help individuals and businesses.

Daniels says the federal disaster request does not currently include Gibson, Harrison, Posey, Shelby and Vanderburgh counties because of less extensive damage. Daniels had also included those counties in a state disaster emergency declaration.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File