News Sections
Audio
Reporting Child Abuse Is The Law
Updated May 5, 2013 12:09 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - High-profile cases like the one developing out of Penn State serve as important reminders when it comes to child abuse reporting laws and child abuse prevention.

Under Indiana law, any individual who has a reason to believe a child is a victim of abuse or neglect must report it by either calling police or placing an anonymous call to the state's Child Abuse Hotline, 1-800-800-8556.

Failing to report carries a penalty.

In November 2010, a 16-year-old Muncie Central High School student was raped in a school bathroom. The principal never called police. Someone else did, and an arrest was made. The principal was later charged with failing to report child abuse . Under Indiana law, any individual who has a reason to believe a child is a victim of abuse or neglect must report it by either calling police or placing an anonymous call to the state's Child Abuse Hotline, 1-800-800-85556. Failing to report carries a penalty.

In November 2010, a 16-year-old Muncie Central High School student was raped in a school bathroom. The principal never called police. Someone else did, and an arrest was made. The principal was later charged with failing to report child abuse .



« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to comments@wbiw.com

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW


1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2014 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.   WBIW.com and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  About  |  Feedback